Log in to personalise your experience and connect with IOP.

Peter Mansfield Medal and Prize recipients

For distinguished contributions to medical physics.


Professor Penny Anne Gowland
University of Nottingham

For being an outstanding world-class scientist who has made major contributions in developing novel techniques for quantitative Magnetic Resonance Imaging to enable innovative, non-invasive investigations into human anatomy, physiology and biology.

Find out more about Professor Penny Anne Gowland.


Professor David Hawkes 
For being an internationally recognised authority on medical imaging research working closely with healthcare providers and industry to address major unsolved clinical problems and to translate novel imaging technologies to the clinic.