Log in to personalise your experience and connect with IOP.

Lise Meitner Medal and Prize recipients

For distinguished contributions to public engagement within physics.


Dr Edward Gomez
Las Cumbres Observatory and Cardiff University

For substantial contributions to physics engagement and raising aspirations of children via public lectures, science comic books and the creation of interactive, innovative resources used in classrooms worldwide.

Find out more about Dr Edward Gomez.


Professor Cristina Lazzeroni
University of Birmingham
For her exceptional innovation and leadership in making contemporary particle physics accessible to a large and diverse audience.


Dr Eilish McLoughlin
Dublin City University
For her leadership of large-scale national initiatives that widen participation in physics in Ireland through formal and informal actions, including Physics Busking, Science on Stage and Improving Gender Balance.


Professor Lucie Green
University College London
For distinguished contributions to public outreach, via public lectures, science festivals, organising public events and open days, frequent radio and TV appearances including presenting, and writing a popular science book.