Log in to personalise your experience and connect with IOP.

James Chadwick Medal and Prize recipients

For distinguished contributions to particle physics.


Professor Geoffrey Hall
Imperial College London

For his pioneering work in developing silicon detectors and front-end electronics for particle physics experiments, especially in crucial radiation-hard applications, critical for the observation of the Higgs boson in 2012.

Find out more about Professor Geoffrey Hall.


Professor Ian Shipsey
University of Oxford
For his elucidation of the physics of heavy quarks, the development of the enabling instrumentation, and leadership of scientific collaborations.


Professor Stefan Söldner-Rembold
The University of Manchester
For his contributions to pioneering experimental work in high-energy particle physics and his international leadership in Higgs and neutrino physics.


Professor Guy Wilkinson
University of Oxford
For his outstanding contributions to the experimental study of heavy quarks and CP violation, most especially for his leadership of, and his decisive contributions to, the LHCb experiment at CERN.


Professor Amanda Cooper Sarkar
University of Oxford
For her study of deep inelastic scattering of leptons on nuclei which has revealed the internal structure of the proton.


Professor Jonathan Butterworth
University College London
For his pioneering experimental and phenomenological work in high energy particle physics, especially in the understanding of hadronic jets.


Professor Terry Wyatt
University of Manchester
For his outstanding contributions to Hadron Collider Physics.


Professor Tejinder Virdee
Imperial College London
For his crucial role in the design and construction of CMS; one of the main experiments which start operation at the LHC this year.


Professor Keith Green and Professor J Michael Pendlebury
Rutherford Appleton Laboratory/University of Sussex
For their outstanding contributions to the measurement of the neutron electric dipole moment, and of other fundamental properties of the neutron.