Menu Close


Log in to personalise your experience and connect with IOP.

Fred Hoyle Medal and Prize recipients

For distinguished contributions to astrophysics, gravitational physics or cosmology.


Professor Carole Mundell

For the groundbreaking discovery of the critical role of magnetic fields in black-hole driven explosions and for pioneering novel astrophysical polarimetry of gamma ray bursts to probe the dynamic universe.

Find out more about Professor Carole Mundell


Professor Erminia Calabrese
Cardiff University

For distinguished work on observational cosmology using the Cosmic Microwave Background to study the origins, content and evolution of the universe, and to probe new regimes of physics.


Professor Roger L Davies
University of Oxford

For seminal contributions to understanding the nature and evolution of early-type galaxies and developing their use as cosmological probes.


Professor William Chaplin
University of Birmingham

For revolutionary progress in the understanding of the stellar interiors of stars, through his leadership of the solar-type asteroseismology programme of the NASA Kepler mission.


Professor Gilles Chabrier
University of Exeter
For his seminal contributions to a variety of astrophysical domains, from planetary to stellar and galactic astronomy.


Professor Hiranya Peiris
University College London and Oskar Klein Centre for Cosmoparticle Physics, Stockholm
For her leading contributions to understanding the origin and evolution of cosmic structure, by pioneering an interdisciplinary approach that combines theoretical, statistical and observational cosmology, astrophysics, numerical relativity and theoretical physics.


Dr Jane Greaves
Cardiff University
For the significant contribution to our understanding of planet formation and exoplanet habitability through her seminal imaging of debris discs around Sun-like stars and solar system bodies using far-infrared telescopes.


Professor Sheila Rowan
University of Glasgow
For having devised and implemented a range of refinements in precision laser interferometers, pioneering aspects of the technology of gravitational wave observatories.


Professor Anthony Raymond Bell
University of Oxford and Rutherford Appleton Laboratory
For elucidating the origin and impact of cosmic rays and for his seminal contributions to electron energy transport in laboratory plasmas


Professor David Lyth
Lancaster University
For his contributions to particle cosmology, in particular to the origin of the structure of the universe.


Professor Carlos S Frenk
Institute for Computational Cosmology, University of Durham
For his major contributions to the development of the now widely accepted cold dark matter model by using cosmological simulations, novel methods for calculating the physics of galaxy formation and analysis of galaxy surveys.


Professor Michael Rowan-Robinson
Imperial College London
For his pioneering research in infrared and submillimetre astronomy, and observational cosmology.