Menu Close


Log in to personalise your experience and connect with IOP.

President’s medal recipients

For both physicists and non-physicists who have contributed to physics in general and the Institute in particular.


Professor Sir Peter Knight
For services to physics, in particular his leadership and championing of the value of physics and quantum technology to society, nationally and internationally.

Find out more about Professor Sir Peter Knight.


Distinguished Professor Myriam P Sarachik
For her fundamental contributions to condensed matter physics, lifetime service to the physics community and efforts to defend the human rights of scientists and the principles of diversity and inclusion in physics.


Professor William George Stirling
For services to physics, especially in the application of X-ray and neutron scattering, and in particular for his contributions at the European Synchrotron Radiation Facility (ESRF) and Institut Laue-Langevin (ILL) (the French-German-British high-flux reactor centre), both in Grenoble.


Professor Dame Jocelyn Bell Burnell
For her outstanding contributions to physics through pioneering research in astronomy, most notably the discovery of the first pulsars, and through her unparalleled record of leadership within the community.


Professor John Dudley
Université de Franche-Comté and University of Manchester
For promoting worldwide public awareness of the importance of physics by initiating the International Year of Light, a global year of science outreach reaching millions of people in over 100 countries.


Professor Douglas J Paul
University of Glasgow, School of Engineering
For his outstanding contributions to the translation of university physics research into advanced technology.


Professor Brian Cox
University of Manchester
In recognition of his achievements in promoting science to the general public and inspiring the next generation of physicists.


Professor Datuk Dr Mazlan Othman
United Nations Office for Outer Space Affairs
In recognition for her work in developing astronomy education in Malaysia and her leading national and international role in space science, through her setting up of the Malaysian Space Agency and as Director of the United Nations Office for Outer Space Affairs.


Professor Sir Michael Atiyah
University of Edinburgh
In recognition of his outstanding contributions to a broad range of topics in mathematics, many of which have provided highly significant foundations to the development of theoretical physics; and of his eminent leadership within the scientific community.


Sir Timothy Berners-Lee
Director of the World Wide Web Consortium
In recognition of his outstanding contribution to the development of the World Wide Web.


Edouard Brézin


Sir Martin Wood


Jerome I Friedman


Lord Dainton