Log in to personalise your experience and connect with IOP.

Phillips Award

The Phillips Award is for distinguished service to the Institute of Physics.


This award is for members who have played a significant role in the Institute of Physics (IOP). The 2023 IOP Phillips Award will reward innovative ideas or activities that have made major contributions to our objectives.

Nominees may have made contributions to, for example, our nations, branches and groups.

Examples of service include:

  • starting a new activity which becomes a sustainable contribution to the IOP’s strategy and charitable purpose
  • establishing a new activity which grows and supports membership and community engagement
  • running a series of major conferences that become an established part of the physics research community
  • embedding activities that make a tangible difference to the way children and the public connect with physics in a meaningful and lasting way

Making a nomination

Nominations for the 2023 IOP Awards are now closed. Please email [email protected] if you have any questions about the awards or your submission. 

Further information will be provided on the 2024 IOP Awards in due course.

We recognise that our members contribute to the IOP in many different ways and we do not have a set of criteria for making a nomination. Nominators will be asked to provide both a short and long citation as part of their nomination. The Phillips Award is open for nomination and self-nomination. Referees and supporting statements are not required.

About Major CES Phillips

Major CES Phillips was one of the founders of the Institute of Physics and was Honorary Treasurer from 1929 to 1945. He was a pioneer in medical physics and also served as President of the British Institute of Radiology from 1930 to 1931, and as Honorary Secretary of the Royal Institution.




  • Heather M Beaumont: for her exemplary leadership of the Nuclear Industry Group over the last five years and sustained collaboration with a number of international, national and regional IOP activities.
  • Dr Claire Davies: for her unwavering commitment to diversity and inclusion, and her pioneering work fostering and nurturing networks between LGBTQ+ physicists in academia and industry.
  • Professor Angela Newing: for her many contributions to the IOP through her support of the South West Branch, her service on Council and its sub-committees, and her ongoing support of retired members through the retired members network.
  • Professor Michael E Ries: for distinguished service to the IOP Yorkshire Branch, performing many outreach events inspiring countless children and adults alike with the magic, fun and wonder that he experiences through physics.


  • Gail Elizabeth Millar
  • Vincent Smith


  • Dr Dimitra Darambara
  • Professor Jamie Hobbs
  • Dr John Williams


  • Stuart Palmer
  • Nicola Wilkin


  • Dr Heather Williams


  • Professor Brian Fulton
  • Dr Mark Telling


  • Professor James Hough OBE
  • Professor Julian Jones OBE


  • Bob Boutland


  • Ann Marks MBE and Neil Marks (joint award)
  • John Colligon


  • Lisa Jardine-Wright
  • Colin Latimer

Learn about our other awards