2019 Award Winners


Isaac Newton Medal and Prize

Isaac Newton Medal and Prize
Professor Sir Michael Pepper 
University College London
For the creation of the field of semiconductor nanoelectronics and discovery of new quantum phenomena.


Gold Medals

Lawrence Bragg Medal and Prize
Dr Lisa Jardine-Wright and Professor Mark Warner
University of Cambridge
For jointly setting up and directing the Isaac Physics programme which has revolutionised physics education for teachers and students in an extraordinary number of UK schools and is now attracting international attention.

Katharine Burr Blodgett Medal and Prize
Professor Chris Hancock
Creo Medical Ltd
For designing and patenting an electro-surgery platform enabling microwave and bipolar radio frequency energy to be delivered from a range of miniature endoscopic devices to treat lesions in the gastrointestinal (GI) tract.

Paul Dirac Medal and Prize
Professor R Keith Ellis
Durham University
For his seminal work in quantum chromodynamics (QCD) where he performed many of the key calculations that led to the acceptance of QCD as the correct theory of the strong interaction.

Michael Farady Medal and Prize
Professor Roy Taylor
Imperial College London
For his extensive, internationally leading contributions to the development of spectrally diverse, ultrafast-laser sources and pioneering fundamental studies of nonlinear fibre optics that have translated to scientific and commercial application.

Richard Glazebrook Medal and Prize
Professor Anne-Christine Davis
University of Cambridge
For her outstanding support and leadership in physics, particularly for women and those from non-traditional backgrounds, for her leadership of the UK particle cosmology community, and her gender championship roles.

William Thomson, Lord Kelvin Medal and Prize
Dr Philip Ball
For being an informed and lucid writer and broadcaster who opens doors into science, and especially physics, for many people who otherwise find them closed.


Silver Subject Medals

Edward Appleton Medal and Prize
Professor Cathryn Mitchell
University of Bath
For pioneering research in tomography and data assimilation revealing a completely new perspective on the Earth's ionosphere in response to extreme space weather.

James Chadwick Medal and Prize
Professor Ian Shipsey
University of Oxford
For his elucidation of the physics of heavy quarks, the development of the enabling instrumentation, and leadership of scientific collaborations.

Sam Edwards Medal and Prize
Professor Wilson Poon
University of Edinburgh
For his outstanding contributions to the fundamental study of condensed matter physics, statistical physics and biophysics using model colloidal systems.

Rosalind Franklin Medal and Prize
Professor Ruth Cameron
University of Cambridge
For her innovative application of physics to regenerative medicine and pharmaceutical delivery.

Dennis Gabor Medal and Prize
Professor Kai Bongs
University of Birmingham
For his contribution to the development of quantum sensors and the translation to industrial applications and the development of the UK National Quantum Technology (QT) Hub for Sensors and Metrology.

Fred Hoyle Medal and Prize
Professor Gilles Chabrier
University of Exeter
For his seminal contributions to a variety of astrophysical domains, from planetary to stellar and galactic astronomy.

James Joule Medal and Prize
Professor Robert Hadfield
University of Glasgow
For the advancement of infrared single photon detection technology, through innovations in superconducting devices and cryogenic engineering.

Peter Mansfield Medal and Prize
Professor David Hawkes
University College London
For being an internationally recognised authority on medical imaging research working closely with healthcare providers and industry to address major unsolved clinical problems and to translate novel imaging technologies to the clinic.

Lise Meitner Medal and Prize
Professor Cristina Lazzeroni
University of Birmingham
For her exceptional innovation and leadership in making contemporary particle physics accessible to a large and diverse audience.

Nevill Mott Medal and Prize
Professor Stephen Hayden
University of Bristol
For pioneering studies of spin and charge excitations in cuprate superconductors and other strongly correlated electron systems.

Cecelia Payne-Gaposchkin Medal and Prize
Professor Alexander Schekochihin
University of Oxford
For elucidating the dynamics that regulate the properties of turbulent, magnetised laboratory and astrophysical plasmas.

Ernest Rutherford Medal and Prize
Professor Philip Walker
University of Surrey
For advances in understanding metastable nuclear states: their origins, properties and applications.

John William Strutt, Lord Rayleigh Medal and Prize
Professor Nigel Cooper
University of Cambridge
For profound contributions to the quantum theory of many-particle systems, concerning both topological phases of cold atoms in artificial gauge fields and novel phenomena in electronic materials.

David Tabor Medal and Prize
Professor Irina Grigorieva
University of Manchester
For her distinguished and distinctive contributions to research on physics of two-dimensional materials and nanotechnology, including magnetism, superconductivity and electron transport in graphene, related 2D crystals and their heterostructures.

Joseph Thomson Medal and Prize
Professor Simon Cornish
Durham University
For outstanding contributions to experiments on ultra-cold atoms and molecules, in particular, the formation of matter-wave solitons and ultra-cold ground state molecules and their interactions.

Thomas Young Medal and Prize
Professor William Barnes
University of Exeter
For his outstanding contributions to the development of nanophotonics, especially in plasmonics and nanoscale light-molecule interactions.


Bronze Early Career Medals

James Clerk Maxwell Medal and Prize
Dr Adam Nahum
University of Oxford
For his outstanding contributions to understanding universal aspects of many-body quantum systems both in and out of equilibrium.

Henry Moseley Medal and Prize
Dr Jonathan Breeze
Imperial College London
For his pioneering work on room-temperature solid-state masers. In particular, his breakthrough demonstration of continuous-wave room-temperature diamond masers that pave the way for a new generation of optical-microwave quantum devices.

Clifford Paterson Medal and Prize
Dr Richard Grant, Dr Shima Ghasemi and Dr Abbas Al Shimary
Creavo Medical Technology
For the development and application of sensors and algorithms to detect and analyse the magnetic field of the heart (magnetocardiography, MCG) for the rule-out of cardiac conditions.

Cookie Settings