IOP Award Winners 2018

Isaac Newton Medal and Prize
Professor Paul Corkum
University of Ottawa and National Research Council of Canada
For his outstanding contributions to experimental physics and to attosecond science – from the femtosecond scale of the motion of atoms within molecules, to the ultimate attosecond scale of the motion of electrons within atoms – and for pioneering work which has led to the first-ever experimental image of a molecular orbital and the first-ever space–time image of an attosecond pulse. Attosecond techniques can freeze the motion of electrons within atoms and molecules, observe quantum mechanical orbitals, and follow chemical reactions.

Paul Dirac Medal and Prize
Professor John Chalker
University of Oxford
For for his pioneering, deep, and distinctive contributions to condensed-matter theory, particularly in the quantum Hall effect, and to geometrically frustrated magnets.

Michael Faraday Medal and Prize
Professor Jennifer Thomas
University College London
For her outstanding investigations into the physics of neutrino oscillations, in particular her leadership of the MINOS/MINOS+ long-baseline neutrino oscillation experiment.

Richard Glazebrook Medal and Prize
Professor Michele Dougherty
Imperial College London
For her scientific leadership of the Cassini magnetic field instrument at Saturn and the European Space Agency (ESA) JUICE study team, leading to mission selection to explore the environs of Jupiter.

Katharine Burr Blodgett Medal and Prize
Dr Michael Begg and Dr James Ramage
Tesla Engineering Ltd
For the transformation of Tesla Engineering Ltd from a manufacturer of conventional magnets for particle accelerators into a world leader of magnets for high-energy physics, MRI and oncology equipment.

Lawrence Bragg Medal and Prize
Professor Bobby Acharya
International Centre for Theoretical Physics and King's College London
For his contributions as the driver of several projects to teach and promote physics in the developing world, with the ultimate aim of developing sustainable physics research in those countries.

William Thomson, Lord Kelvin Medal and Prize
Dr Helen Czerski
University College London
For her contributions to championing the physics of everyday life to a worldwide audience of millions through TV programmes, a popular science book, newspaper columns, and public talks.

John William Strutt, Lord Rayleigh Medal and Prize
Dr Owen Saxton
Murray Edwards College, University of Cambridge
For his contributions to the Gerchberg-Saxton computer algorithm, decades ahead of its time but now prevalent in phase retrieval, and for his foundational image processing programs, still influential in front line electron microscopy.

Fred Hoyle Medal and Prize
Professor Hiranya Peiris
University College London and Oskar Klein Centre for Cosmoparticle Physics, Stockholm
For her leading contributions to understanding the origin and evolution of cosmic structure, by pioneering an interdisciplinary approach that combines theoretical, statistical and observational cosmology, astrophysics, numerical relativity and theoretical physics.

James Chadwick Medal and Prize
Professor Stefan Söldner-Rembold
University of Manchester
For his contributions to pioneering experimental work in high-energy particle physics and his international leadership in Higgs and neutrino physics.

Nevill Mott Medal and Prize
Professor Laura Herz
University of Oxford
For her ground-breaking research on the fundamental mechanisms underpinning light harvesting, energy conversion and charge conduction in semiconducting materials.

David Tabor Medal and Prize
Professor Adrian Sutton
Imperial College London
For his definitive contributions to the nanophysics of interfaces in crystalline materials, atomic and electronic structures of surfaces, dislocations and kinks, current-induced mechanical instabilities in nanowires, and dislocation elastodynamics during shock loading

Rosalind Franklin Medal and Prize
Professor Molly Stevens
Imperial College London
For her contributions to ground-breaking and influential advances in the engineering of bioinspired materials for regenerative medicine and biosensing applications – and their translation into industrial development and medical deployment.

Thomas Young Medal and Prize
Professor Dieter Jaksch
University of Oxford
For his contributions to theoretical proposals enabling the study of non-equilibrium quantum many-body dynamics with unprecedented microscopic control in ultra-cold atoms, and establishing them as a quantum technologies platform.

James Joule Medal and Prize
Professor Ravi Silva
University of Surrey
For his distinguished contributions to the development of carbon nanomaterials for use in cross-disciplinary advanced technology applications relevant to materials, optoelectronics and sustainable energy.

Dennis Gabor Medal and Prize
Dr Nils Hempler
M Squared Lasers
For his role in founding M Squared Innovation, forming global partnerships, commercialising cutting-edge science in quantum, biophotonics and sensing – and helping to establish new companies to develop products for societal benefit.

Lise Meitner Medal and Prize
Dr Eilish McLoughlin
Dublin City University
For her leadership of large-scale national initiatives that widen participation in physics in Ireland through formal and informal actions, including Physics Busking, Science on Stage and Improving Gender Balance.

James Clerk Maxwell Medal and Prize
Dr Hannah Price
University of Birmingham
For her important contributions to the nascent fields of topological atomic and optical physics, including collaboration with world-leading experimental groups in their observation of new effects.

Henry Moseley Medal and Prize
Dr Samuel Stranks
University of Cambridge
For his work in pioneering the understanding of the photoexcited states in metal halide perovskite semiconductor materials as used in efficient solar cells, including their diffusion, collection and recombination.

Clifford Paterson Medal and Prize
Dr Richard Bowman
University of Bath
For his contributions to optical microscopy, in particular to experiment automation and the creation of globally accessible, open-source hardware.

Daphne Jackson Medal and Prize
Dr Jessica Wade
Imperial College London
For acting as an internationally-recognised ambassador for STEM, enhancing engagement across a wide range of demographics, through sustained and stimulating community engagement and outreach.

Jocelyn Bell Burnell Medal and Prize
Dr Carmen Palacios-Berraquero
University of Cambridge
For discovering and patenting a method to create single-photon emitting sites in atomically-thin materials, deterministically – and for using a 2-dimensional device to all-electrically induce quantum emission from these sites.

Cookie Settings