IOP Award Winners 2017

Isaac Newton Medal of the Institute of Physics
Professor Charles L Bennett

Johns Hopkins University
For his leadership of the Microwave Anisotropy Probe, a satellite experiment that revolutionized cosmology, transforming it from an order-of-magnitude game to a paragon of precision science.

Paul Dirac Medal and Prize
Professor Michael Duff

Imperial College London and Oxford University 
For sustained groundbreaking contributions to theoretical physics including the discovery of Weyl anomalies, for having pioneered Kaluza-Klein supergravity, and for recognising that superstrings in 10 dimensions are merely a special case of membranes in an 11-dimensional M-theory.

Michael Faraday Medal and Prize
Professor Jeremy J Baumberg

University of Cambridge
For his investigations of many ingenious nanostructures supporting novel and precisely engineered plasmonic phenomena relevant to single molecule and atom dynamics, Raman spectroscopies and metamaterials applications.

Richard Glazebrook Medal and Prize
Professor David Charlton

University of Birmingham
For his leadership in experimental work on the electroweak standard model, beginning with the study of Z-boson decays at LEP and culminating in the discovery of the Higgs boson at the LHC.

Katharine Burr Blodgett Medal and Prize
Professor Cliff Jones

University of Leeds
For inventions in the area of liquid crystal displays, and his role in the founding and commercial success of Displaydata – a leading supplier of graphic electronic labels for the retail sector.

Lawrence Bragg Medal and Prize
Mary Whitehouse

University of York
She has been a national influence on the development of teaching and learning in physics, both through her central involvement in curriculum projects and in developing the assessment process.

William Thomson, Lord Kelvin Medal and Prize
Wendy Sadler

Science Made Simple, Cardiff University
For establishing Science Made Simple, which has reached more than 750,000 people with live performances promoting the relevance of physical sciences to society and careers.

John William Strutt, Lord Rayleigh Medal and Prize
Professor Nigel Glover

Durham University
For pioneering new methods for the application of perturbative quantum chromodynamics to high-energy processes involving energetic jets, leading to sophisticated simulation codes that are being used to describe LHC data.

Cecelia Payne-Gaposchkin Medal and Prize
Professor Steven J Schwartz
Imperial College London
For his many contributions to shock waves, particle acceleration, and fundamental plasma phenomena in the Sun’s atmosphere, interplanetary medium, near-Earth environment and wider astrophysical contexts.

Fred Hoyle Medal and Prize
Dr Jane Greaves

Cardiff University
For the significant contribution to our understanding of planet formation and exoplanet habitability through her seminal imaging of debris discs around Sun-like stars and solar system bodies using far-infrared telescopes.

James Chadwick Medal and Prize
Professor Guy Wilkinson

University of Oxford
For his outstanding contributions to the experimental study of heavy quarks and CP violation, most especially for his leadership of, and his decisive contributions to, the LHCb experiment at CERN.

Nevill Mott Medal and Prize
Professor Michael Finnis

Imperial College London
For his original, insightful and courageous work in materials physics, which is recognised worldwide as having consistently opened up large areas of materials physics to rigorous theory and computation.

Sam Edwards Medal and Prize
Professor Tom McLeish

Durham University
For his sustained and outstanding contributions to the fields of molecular rheology, macromolecular biophysics and self-assembly.

Thomas Young Medal and Prize
Professor Kishan Dholakia

University of St Andrews
For his contributions to the field of optical micromanipulation using shaped light fields in liquid, air and vacuum.

James Joule Medal and Prize
Professor Henry Snaith

University of Oxford
For his pioneering discovery and development of highly efficient thin-film organic-inorganic metal-halide perovskite solar cells.

Dennis Gabor Medal and Prize
Distinguished Professor Paul Evans

Nottingham Trent University
For his pioneering research into material-specific, 3D X-ray imaging and its application in security screening, which has substantially increased the security of the travelling public.

Lise Meitner Medal and Prize
Professor Lucie Green

University College London
For distinguished contributions to public outreach, via public lectures, science festivals, organising public events and open days, frequent radio and TV appearances including presenting, and writing a popular science book.

James Clarke Maxwell Medal and Prize
Dr Marcin Mucha-Kruczynski

University of Bath
For the outstanding contributions to the understanding of graphene, in particular groundbreaking studies that have addressed its optical properties, lattice deformations, electronic structure, and electron transport.

Henry Moseley Award and Prize
Dr Akshay Rao

University of Cambridge
For groundbreaking studies in the electronic properties of organic semiconductors, particularly the roles of electron spin in the operation of solar cells.

Clifford Paterson Medal and Prize
Dr Ceri Brenner

Science and Technology Facilities Council
For driving the development of laser-driven accelerators for applications and for leading collaborative partnerships between academia and industry vital for the transfer of this technology to tackle global challenges.

Mary Somerville Medal and Prize
Dr Jessamyn Fairfield

National University of Ireland, Galway
For stellar work as a speaker and writer on physics for a popular audience, and for having organised and hosted many innovative events bringing physics to the Irish public.

Cookie Settings