IOP Award winners 2016

Isaac Newton Medal of the Institute of Physics
Professor Sir Thomas Kibble

Imperial College London
For developing the theory of symmetry-breaking in quantum field theory, which has led to quantitative models for the origin of the masses of elementary particles, together with experimentally verified applications to soliton formation, and models for structure formation in the early universe.

Dirac Medal and Prize
Professor Sandu Popescu

University of Bristol
For his fundamental and influential research into nonlocality and his contribution to the foundations of quantum physics.

Faraday Medal and Prize
Professor Jenny Nelson

Imperial College London
For her pioneering advances in the science of nanostructured and molecular semiconductor materials.

Glazebrook Medal and Prize
Dr Hugh Elliot Montgomery

Thomas Jefferson National Accelerator Facility
For his leadership at the Thomas Jefferson National Accelerator Facility and distinguished research in high-energy physics.

Swan Medal and prize
Dr Graeme Malcolm

M Squared Lasers
For his role in founding M Squared Lasers, and his contribution to the design and manufacture of transformative award-winning photonics products.

Maxwell Medal and Prize
Dr Alexandra Olaya-Castro

University College London
For her contributions to the theory of quantum effects in biomolecular systems – in particular, to the understanding of exciton-vibration interactions and the emergence of nontrivial quantum behaviour in photosynthetic complexes.

Moseley Medal and Prize
Dr Jacopo Bertolotti

University of Exeter
For his contributions to the understanding and exploitation of light scattering both in natural and in artificial materials.

Paterson Medal and Prize
Professor Malte Gather

University of St Andrews
For inventing a way of generating laser light within live cells and pioneering the application of this concept for the life sciences, and for his work on organic LEDs, which find applications in the display industry and in biophotonics.

Bragg Medal and Prize
Stuart Farmer

Robert Gordon’s College
For outstanding contributions to enhance both the teaching and the public image of physics, making classroom science more relevant, attractive and visible.

Kelvin Medal and Prize
Brady Haran, Professor Michael Merrifield and Professor Philip Moriarty

University of Nottingham
For innovative and effective promotion of the public understanding of physics through the Sixty Symbols video project.

The Appleton Medal and Prize
Professor Giles Harrison

University of Reading
For his outstanding contributions and leadership in the field of atmospheric electricity, including the discovery of new global-scale atmospheric interactions, and his leading public outreach on the meteorological effects of the solar eclipse of 2015.

The Franklin Medal and Prize
Professor Raymond E. Goldstein

University of Cambridge and Churchill College Cambridge
For revealing the physical basis for fluid motion in and around active cells and its importance for the evolution of multicellularity, cell differentiation, and the synchronicity of eukaryotic flagella.

The Gabor Medal and Prize
Professor Martin Dawson

University of Strathclyde
For his vision and leadership in applied photonics, including pioneering contributions to optically pumped semiconductor lasers, diamond photonics and gallium nitride optical microsystems, and for fostering the international development and commercialisation of these technologies.

The Hoyle Medal and Prize
Professor Sheila Rowan

University of Glasgow
For having devised and implemented a range of refinements in precision laser interferometers, pioneering aspects of the technology of gravitational wave observatories

The Rutherford Medal and Prize
Professor John Simpson

STFC Daresbury Laboratory
For his outstanding leadership in the development of new detector technologies and systems for experimental nuclear physics research within the UK and Europe, and for his seminal contributions to our understanding of the structure of atomic nuclei, especially in revealing new properties of nuclei at the limits of angular momentum, deformation, and stability.

The Thomson Medal and Prize
Professor Jeremy Hutson

University of Durham
For his pioneering work on the theory of ultracold molecules, which has provided fundamental insights into ultracold atomic and molecular collisions and which underpins recent experiments to create molecular quantum gases.

Cookie Settings