IOP Award winners 2015

Isaac Newton Medal of the Institute of Physics
Professor Eli Yablonovitch

University of California, Berkeley
For his visionary and foundational contributions to photonic nanostructures.

Dirac Medal and prize
Professor John David Barrow

University of Cambridge
For his combination of mathematical and physical reasoning to increase our understanding of the evolution of the universe, and his use of cosmology to increase our understanding of fundamental physics.

Faraday Medal and prize
Professor Henning Sirringhaus

University of Cambridge
For transforming our knowledge of charge transport phenomena in organic semiconductors as well as our ability to exploit them

Glazebrook Medal and prize
Professor Sir Tejinder Virdee

Imperial College London
For his leadership of the Compact Muon Solenoid (CMS) experiment at the Large Hadron Collider (LHC) where evidence for the Higgs boson was revealed after 20 years of research involving design, construction and data-taking

Swan Medal and prize
Professor Iain Baikie

KP Technology Ltd
For his contributions to the development of Kelvin Probe (KP) method instrumentation through his company, KP Technology

Maxwell Medal and Prize
Dr Clare Burrage

University of Nottingham
For her contributions to dark energy research, in particular to the development of methods of testing for fifth forces from astrophysical probes through to atom interferometry experiments

Moseley Medal and Prize
Dr Rahul Raveendran-Nair

University of Manchester
For his outstanding contributions to our understanding of the electrical, optical and structural properties of graphene and its sister compounds

Paterson Medal and Prize
Dr Edmund Kelleher

Imperial College London
For his many contributions to pulse-width and wavelength-versatile fibre-based photonic sources

Bragg Medal and Prize
Professor Paula Chadwick

University of Durham
For developing the successful concept of Group Industrial Projects: a UK-wide scheme to engage physics undergraduates with industry.

Kelvin Medal and Prize
Professor Christopher Lintott

University of Oxford
For his major contributions to public engagement with science through conventional media (especially through television) and by leading citizen science projects through Zooniverse, opening a new chapter in the history of science by enabling hundreds of thousands of people to participate in the process of scientific discovery

The Chadwick medal and prize
Professor Amanda Cooper Sarkar

University of Oxford
For her study of deep inelastic scattering of leptons on nuclei which has revealed the internal structure of the proton.

The Joule medal and prize
Professor Judith Driscoll

University of Cambridge
For her pioneering contributions to the understanding and enhancement of critical physical properties of strongly-correlated oxides, encompassing oxide superconductors, ferroelectrics, multiferroics and semiconductors

The Mott medal and prize
Professor John Saunders

Royal Holloway, University of London
For ground-breaking studies at the frontiers of ultra-low temperature physics

The Payne-Gaposchkin medal and prize
Professor Valery Nakariakov

University of Warwick
For his leadership and major contribution to the discovery of magnetohydrodynamic (MHD) activity of the solar corona, which led to transformative changes in our understanding of the solar atmosphere, and to the creation and successful implementation of a new branch of solar physics, MHD coronal seismology

The Rayleigh medal and prize
Professor Christopher Pickard

University College London
For his development of new theories and computational tools for the first principles investigation of matter, which have greatly aided the interpretation of magnetic resonance experiments, have revealed a range of unexpected phenomena in materials at extreme pressures, and increasingly underpin computational materials discovery.

The Tabor medal and prize
Professor Geoffrey Thornton

University College London
For his contributions to understanding the physics and chemistry of oxide surfaces, using both scanned-probe and reciprocal-space techniques

The Young medal and prize
Professor Nikolay Zheludev

University of Southampton
For global leadership and pioneering, seminal work in optical metamaterials and nanophotonics

Cookie Settings