2014 Award winners

IOP Award winners 2014

Isaac Newton Medal of the Institute of Physics
Professor Deborah S Jin
National Institute of Standards and Technology and University of Colorado 
For pioneering the field of quantum-degenerate Fermi gases.

Dirac Medal and prize
Professor Tim Palmer
University of Oxford 
For the development of probabilistic weather and climate prediction systems.

Faraday Medal and prize
Professor Alexander Giles Davies and Professor Edmund Linfield
University of Leeds
For their outstanding and sustained contributions to the physics and technology of the far-infrared (terahertz) frequency region of the electromagnetic spectrum.

Glazebrook Medal and prize
Professor Gerhard Materlik
University College London and Diamond Light Source
For outstanding leadership in establishing a world-leading laboratory at the Diamond Light Source and for his innovations in X-ray diffraction physics.

Swan Medal and prize
Professor Michael Payne
University of Cambridge
For the development of computational techniques that have revolutionised materials design and facilitated the industrial application of quantum mechanical simulations.

Appleton Medal and Prize
Professor David Marshall

University of Oxford
For his fundamental contributions to understanding the fluid dynamics of the global ocean circulation through the development of penetrating conceptual models.

Franklin Medal and Prize
Professor Benjamin Simons
University of Cambridge
For the application of non-equilibrium statistical mechanic to provide fundamental new insights into the mechanisms that regulate stem cell behaviour in tissue maintenance and disease.

Gabor Medal and Prize
Professor Brian Tanner

University of Durham
For his research on, and practical realisation of, metrologies and technologies that contribute direct improvement to industrial performance and for his contribution to the understanding of the fundamental science behind engineering processes.

Hoyle Medal and Prize
Professor Anthony Raymond Bell
University of Oxford and Rutherford Appleton Laboratory
For elucidating the origin and impact of cosmic rays and for his seminal contributions to electron energy transport in laboratory plasmas.

Rutherford Medal and Prize
Professor Paul Nolan
University of Liverpool
For his outstanding contributions to Nuclear structure at extremes of angular momentum and his leading role in the development of segmented Germanium detector technology.

Thomson Medal and Prize
Professor Charles S Adams
Durham University
For his insightful and imaginative experiments which have pioneered the field of Rydberg quantum optics, and the understanding of light-matter interactions in systems with strong dipole-dipole interactions.

Maxwell Medal and Prize
Professor Igor Lesanovsky
University of Nottingham
For his outstanding contributions to the theory of control and manipulation of quantum systems, particularly his pioneering studies of highly excited ‘Rydberg’ states in cold atomic gases.

Moseley Medal and Prize
Dr Elizabeth Blackburn
University of Birmingham
For her pioneering experimental work in the field of novel superconductors and magnets using neutrons and X-rays, often in extreme conditions, to elucidate their complex structure and response.

Paterson Medal and Prize
Dr Sarah Bohndiek
University of Cambridge
For her remarkable work in developing advanced molecular imaging techniques and applying them to address questions at the interface of physics, biology and medicine.

Bragg Medal and Prize
Professor Peter Vukusic
University of Exeter
For his significant and impactful contributions to widening participation in physics education and outreach.

Kelvin Medal and Prize
Professor Tim O’Brien and Dr Teresa Anderson
The University of Manchester
For their innovative approach to public engagement with physics through the creation of a new Discovery Centre at Jodrell Bank and the development of an education programme that reaches 16,000 school children every year.


Cookie Settings