2012 Award winners

IOP Award winners 2012

Isaac Newton Medal of the Institute of Physics
Professor Martin Rees, Lord Rees of Ludlow
, Institute of Astronomy, Cambridge University

For his outstanding contributions to relativistic astrophysics and cosmology.

Dirac Medal of the Institute of Physics
Professor Graham Garland Ross
, Rudolf Peierls Centre for Theoretical Physics, University of Oxford

For his theoretical work in developing both the Standard Model of fundamental particles and forces and theories beyond the Standard Model that have led to many new insights into the origins and nature of the universe.

Faraday Medal of the Institute of Physics
Professor J R Sambles
, University of Exeter

For his pioneering research in experimental condensed matter physics.

Glazebrook Medal of the Institute of Physics
Professor Steven Cowley
, UK Atomic Energy Authority / Imperial College

For his leadership of the United Kingdom’s magnetic fusion programme and of Culham Laboratory and for his seminal contributions to plasma and fusion science.

Swan Medal of the Institute of Physics
Sir David McMurtry and John Deer
, Renishaw plc

For their role in founding Renishaw plc and leading it to become one of the world’s principal manufacturers of metrology equipment

Appleton Medal and Prize
Professor Colin O’Dowd
, National University of Ireland, Galway

For his outstanding contributions to research in atmospheric aerosol-cloud-climate interactions, and particularly in the formation and transformation of aerosols from natural systems.

Franklin Medal and Prize
Professor Howard R Morris
, Imperial College London

For his contributions to mass spectrometer design which revolutionised peptide sequencing and fuelled the proteomics revolution.

Gabor Medal and Prize
Professor Alwyn Seeds
, London Centre for Nanotechnology and Department of Electronic and Electrical Engineering, University College London

For his research on and practical realisation of microwave photonic devices leading to their commercial exploitation in wireless and optical communication systems.

Hoyle Medal and Prize
Professor David Lyth
, Lancaster University

For his contributions to particle cosmology, in particular to the origin of the structure of the universe.

Rutherford Medal and Prize
Professor Peter A Butler
, University of Liverpool

For his outstanding work in the field of experimental nuclear physics and his dynamic contributions to the future direction of the field.

Thomson Medal and Prize
Professor Michael Köhl
, Cavendish Laboratory, University of Cambridge

For his pioneering experimental work in Bose-Einstein condensates and cold Fermi gases.

Maxwell Medal and Prize
Dr Meera Parish
, London Centre for Nanotechnology, University College London

For her pioneering work in the theory of cold fermionic matter and magnetotransport in highly disordered media.

Moseley Medal and Prize
Dr Suchitra Sebastian
, University of Cambridge

For her important discoveries in frustrated quantum magnets, heavy fermion systems and high temperature semiconductors.

Paterson Medal and Prize
Dr Henry J Snaith
, Clarendon Laboratory, University of Oxford

For his important contributions to the field of excitonic solar cells.

Bragg Medal and Prize
Professor Katherine Blundell
, University of Oxford

For promoting engagement in and learning of physics both by carrying research in astronomy into schools in developing countries and by helping graduate students and postdocs in the UK to talk to schoolchildren about their science.

Kelvin Medal and Prize
Dr Graham Farmelo
, Churchill College, Cambridge

For his outstanding work in communicating science to a broad audience, in particular for his biography of Paul Dirac.

Cookie Settings