2011 Award winners

Isaac Newton Medal of the Institute of Physics
Professor Leo P. Kadanoff, University of Chicago

For inventing conceptual tools that reveal the deep implications of scale invariance on the behavior of phase transitions and dynamical systems.

Business and Innovation Medal of the Institute of Physics
Dr Graham John Batey, Oxford Instruments NanoScience

For sustained outstanding contribution to the application of low temperature physics in an industrial high technology environment.

Dirac Medal of the Institute of Physics
Professor Christopher Isham, Imperial College London

For his major contributions to the search for a consistent quantum theory of gravity and to the foundations of quantum mechanics.

Faraday Medal of the Institute of Physics
Professor Alan Andrew Watson, University of Leeds

For his outstanding leadership within the Pierre Auger Observatory, and the insights he has provided to the origin and nature of ultra high energy cosmic rays.

Glazebrook Medal of the Institute of Physics
Professor Richard J Parker, Dr Mike Howse and Professor Philip C Ruffles, Rolls Royce Group

For the creation, development and expansion of the Rolls-Royce University Technology Centre (UTC) network, widely held to be the exemplary model for University/ Industry interaction.

Chadwick Medal and Prize
Professor Terry Wyatt, University of Manchester

For his outstanding contributions to Hadron Collider Physics.

Joule Medal and Prize
Dr Donald D Arnone, TeraView Ltd.

For his pioneering work in the science, technology and applications of terahertz radiation.

Mott Medal and Prize
Professor Andrew Peter Mackenzie, University of St Andrews

For his major and original contributions to the physics of strongly correlated electrons in oxides, in particular, their superconductivity and quantum criticality.

Payne-Gaposchkin Medal and Prize
Professor Yvonne Elsworth, University of Birmingham

For the development of Helioseismology into a unique quantitative tool probing the deep interior of the Sun, illuminating stellar structure and evolution and the solar neutrino problem.

Rayleigh Medal and Prize
Professor Arkady Tseytlin, Imperial College London

For his contributions to the understanding of string theory and of its relation to conventional quantum field theories, and in particular to non-abelian gauge theories that form the basis for our current theoretical description of elementary particle interactions.

Tabor Medal and Prize
Professor Andrew Turberfield, University of Oxford

For his seminal contributions to nano-science, in particular, for pioneering the technique of holographic lithography and DNA self-assembly.

Young Medal and Prize
Professor Ian A Walmsley, University of Oxford

For his innovative contributions to optical physics and technology, in particular in the areas of quantum control, quantum optics and ultra-fast metrology.

Maxwell Medal and Prize
Dr Andrei Starinets, University of Oxford

For his contributions to our understanding of the transport properties of systems of strongly coupled quantum fields.

Moseley Medal and Prize
Dr Giovanna Tinetti, University College London

For her work, pioneering the use of infrared, primary transit spectroscopy to characterise the molecular composition of extra solar planets.

Paterson Medal and Prize
Dr Jochen Guck, University of Cambridge

For his invention of the optical stretcher, together with other novel physical probes to elucidate cellular mechanical and optical properties, their role in biological function and their potential in medical diagnostics.

Bragg Medal and Prize
Professor Philip Harland Scott, University of Leeds

For his influential research in physics education which has had a significant impact on teachers and the teaching of physics in secondary schools.

Kelvin Medal and Prize
Professor Jim Al-Khalili, University of Surrey

For his outstanding work in communicating physics to public audiences face- to- face at numerous public events and through his work as a writer and broadcaster.

Cookie Settings