2010 Award Winners

Isaac Newton medal of the Institute of Physics
Professor Edward Witten
Institute for Advanced Studies
For his many profound contributions that have transformed areas of particle theory, quantum field theory and general relativity.

Business and Innovation medal of the Institute of Physics
Professor Sir Michael Pepper
University College London
For translating advances in semiconductor physics into the commercial arena, including key roles in founding Toshiba Research Europe, Cambridge Laboratory, and TeraView Ltd.

Dirac medal of the Institute of Physics
Professor James Binney
Rudolf Peierls Institute for Theoretical Physics, Oxford University
For his contribution to our understanding of how galaxies are constituted, how they work and how they were formed.

Faraday medal of the Institute of Physics
Professor Dame Athene Donald, FRS
University of Cambridge
For her many highly original studies of the structures and behaviour of polymers both synthetic and natural.

Glazebrook medal of the Institute of Physics
Professor Peter Roberts
For his leadership in the design, physics and safety of nuclear weapons.

Appleton medal and prize
Dr Myles Allen
University of Oxford
For his important contributions to the detection and attribution of human influence on climate and quantifying uncertainty in climate predictions.

Franklin medal and prize
Professor Thomas Duke
University College London
For the application of physical principles to the development of elegant molecular sorting devices, for providing new insights into the organising principles of cells and for his primary contributions to a new generation of theories of how the inner ear works.

Gabor medal and prize
Professor Pratibha L Gai
The University of York
For her pioneering development of atomic – resolution environmental transmission electron microscopy and its application to instrument manufacture and industrial processing.

Hoyle medal and prize
Professor Carlos S Frenk
Institute for Computational Cosmology, University of Durham
For his major contributions to the development of the now widely accepted cold dark matter model by using cosmological simulations, novel methods for calculating the physics of galaxy formation and analysis of galaxy surveys.

Rutherford medal and prize
Professor Martin Freer
University of Birmingham
For establishing the existence of nuclear configurations analogous to molecules and demonstrating the existence of nucleon-clustering in key light nuclei, a long-standing issue in the field.

Thomson medal and prize
Professor Gaetana Laricchia
University College London
For her contributions to the development of the world's only positronium beam and its use to probe the properties of atoms and molecules

Maxwell medal and prize
Dr Peter Haynes
Imperial College London
For his work on linear-scaling methods for large-scale first-principles simulation of materials based on density-functional theory, in particular his leading role in the development of the ONETEP code used in both academe and industry.

Moseley medal and prize
Professor Jeremy O’Brien
University of Bristol
For his outstanding contributions to experimental quantum optics and quantum information science and in particular for pioneering the field of integrated quantum photonics.

Paterson medal and prize
Professor Stefan Maier
Imperial College London
For his important contributions to the fields of plasmonics and plasmonic metamaterials.

Bragg medal and prize
Peter Campbell
Science Learning Centre London
For his leading role in a wide range of projects that have made a significant impact on the physics curriculum and the teaching of physics.

Kelvin medal and prize
Professor Brian Cox
The University of Manchester
For communicating the appeal and excitement of physics to the general public through the broadcast media.

Born medal and prize
Professor Simon White
Max-Planck Institute for Astrophysics
For his contributions to cosmology, galaxy development and the theory of Lambda Cold Dark Matter.

Holweck medal and prize
Steven T Bramwell
University College London
For pioneering new concepts in the experimental and theoretical study of spin systems.

Occhialini medal and prize
Professor Ignazio Ciufolini
Università del Salento
For providing further experimental confirmation of Einstein’s theory of General Relativity through the use of laser-ranged satellites to study and measure frame-dragging.

Cookie Settings