Michael Faraday Medal and Prize

In 2008 Council decided to establish the Michael Faraday Medal and Prize. This had been known previously as the Guthrie Medal and Prize. Originally this had been the Guthrie Lecture which was instituted by the Council of The Physical Society in 1914 in memory of its founder, Professor Frederick Guthrie.

In 1965 the Council of the Institute and Society decided that, in view of the changed conditions since the lecture was established, this, the senior award within its gift, should be changed to a Medal and Prize.

The first award was made in 1966. In 1992 the Council decided that the Guthrie Medal and Prize should become one of the Premier Awards and then from 2008 that it should be one of its Gold Medals and be known as the Michael Faraday Medal and Prize of the Institute of Physics.

The physicist behind the medal
Michael Faraday was an English experimental scientist who made several important discoveries in electromagnetism, establishing the concept of the magnetic field, discovering the law of electromagnetic induction, founding the basis of the electric motor and pioneering the use of electricity in technology. The unit of capacitance, the farad, is named after him.

The award shall be made for outstanding and sustained contributions to experimental physics. The medal will be gold and shall be accompanied by a prize of £1000 and a certificate.


Cookie Settings