Log in to personalise your experience and connect with IOP.

Mary Somerville Medal and Prize recipients

For exceptional early career contributions to public engagement in physics.


Dr Becky Smethurst
Department of Physics, University of Oxford

For engaging a diverse, global audience with complex astrophysical ideas presented at an accessible level with a large dose of enthusiasm on the YouTube channel Dr. Becky.

Find out more about Dr Becky Smethurst.


Dr Jessamyn Fairfield
National University of Ireland Galway
For stellar work as a speaker and writer on physics for a popular audience, and for having organised and hosted many innovative events bringing physics to the Irish public.