Menu Close


Log in to personalise your experience and connect with IOP.

Jocelyn Bell Burnell Medal and Prize recipients

For exceptional early-career contributions to physics by a very early career female physicist.


Raquel Lopez-Rios de Castro

For exceptional contributions to improving the inclusivity and diversity within postgraduate research programmes in the UK while developing multidisciplinary techniques for the design of next-generation anti-cancer therapeutics.

Find out more about Raquel Lopez-Rios de Castro


Amy Smith
Imperial College London

For exceptional contributions to physics education and efforts to reducing barriers to progression and increasing sense of belonging amongst underrepresented groups.


Sara Motaghian
Natural History Museum and Imperial College London

For developing spectral mission software for ExoMars to expedite analysis and maximise scientific mission return, her equity work leading Roving with Rosalind, and inspiring thousands of children with ExoMars.


Bethan Cornell
King's College London

For her cross-disciplinary work in atomistic and molecular modelling, her contribution to improving gender balance and supporting minority groups in physics, and for promoting the interests of early career researchers.


Dr Yolanda Ohene
University College London
For discovering a novel non-invasive MRI technique that measures blood-brain barrier permeability to water; a possible early biomarker for neurodegenerative diseases.


Dr Carmen Palacios-Berraquero
University of Cambridge
For discovering and patenting a method to create single-photon emitting sites in atomically-thin materials, deterministically – and for using a 2-dimensional device to all-electrically induce quantum emission from these sites.


Dr Jessica Boland
University of Regensburg
For having developed novel techniques for characterising the charge carrier dynamics of semiconductor nanowires, enabling demonstration of single nanowire terahertz detectors and ultrafast optically switchable nanowire-based terahertz modulators for ultrafast wireless communication.


Dr Jessica Wade
Imperial College London
For her research on the molecular packing of organic semiconductors and how this influences device performance, as well as her work in promoting the field to others.