Log in to personalise your experience and connect with IOP.

Awards at a glance

View all IOP Awards in the table below.


Go back to IOP Awards landing page

Award category Award name Awarded for Nomination
Apprentice and Apprenticeship Employer Awards Apprentice Award Contributions to physics by an apprentice Nomination/Self-nomination
  Apprenticeship Employer Award Contributions to apprenticeship schemes Nomination/Self-nomination
Bronze Early Career Medals and Prizes Jocelyn Bell Burnell Very early career female Nomination/Self-nomination
  James Clerk Maxwell Computational, Mathematical, Theoretical Nomination/Self-nomination
  Daphne Jackson Physics education Nomination/Self-nomination
  Henry Moseley Experimental Nomination/Self-nomination
  Clifford Paterson Commercial/Business, Industrial Nomination/Self-nomination
  Mary Somerville Public engagement Nomination/Self-nomination
Business Awards Business Innovation Award Innovation through application of physics Application by business
  Business Start-up Award Innovation through application of physics Application by business
  Lee Lucas Award Innovation by early-stage medical/healthcare companies Application by business
Gold Medals and Prizes Lawrence Bragg Physics education Nomination/Self-nomination
  Katharine Burr Blodgett Commercial/Business, Industrial Nomination/Self-nomination
  Paul Dirac Computational, Mathematical, Theoretical Nomination/Self-nomination
  Michael Faraday Experimental Nomination/Self-nomination
  Richard Glazebrook Leadership Nomination/Self-nomination
  William Thomson, Lord Kelvin Public engagement Nomination/Self-nomination
Honorary Fellowship Honorary Fellowship Service to physics Nomination/Self-nomination
International Bilateral Medals and Prizes Max Born Contributions to physics Awarded by IOP/German Physical Society
  Fernand Holweck Contributions to physics Awarded by IOP/French Physical Society
  Harrie Massey Contributions to physics Awarded by IOP/Australian Institute of Physics
  Giuseppe Occhialini Contributions to physics Awarded by IOP/Italian Physical Society
Isaac Newton Medal and Prize

Isaac Newton

Contributions to physics Nomination/Self-nomination
Phillips Award Phillips Award Service to the IOP Nomination/Self-nomination
President's Medal President's Medal Service to physics Awarded by IOP President
Silver Subject Medals and Prizes Edward Appleton Atmospheric, Earth/Environmental Nomination/Self-nomination
  James Chadwick Particle Nomination/Self-nomination
  Marie Curie-Sklodowska Physics education Nomination/Self-nomination
  Sam Edwards Soft matter Nomination/Self-nomination
  Rosalind Franklin Biological, Life sciences Nomination/Self-nomination
  Dennis Gabor Commercial/Business, Industrial Nomination/Self-nomination
  Fred Hoyle Astrophysics, Cosmology, Gravitational Nomination/Self-nomination
  James Joule Applied, Solving technological problems Nomination/Self-nomination
  Peter Mansfield Medical Nomination/Self-nomination
  Lise Meitner Public engagement Nomination/Self-nomination
  Nevill Mott Condensed matter, Materials Nomination/Self-nomination
  Cecilia Payne-Gaposchkin Plasma, Solar, Space Nomination/Self-nomination
  Ernest Rutherford Nuclear Nomination/Self-nomination
  John William Strutt, Lord Rayleigh Computational, Mathematical, Theoretical Nomination/Self-nomination
  David Tabor Nanoscale, Surface Nomination/Self-nomination
  Joseph Thomson Atomic, Molecular Nomination/Self-nomination
  Thomas Young Optics, Physics outside visible region Nomination/Self-nomination
Teachers of Physics Award Teachers of Physics Award Physics education Nomination/Self-nomination
Technician Awards Technician Award Contributions to physics by a technician Nomination/Self-nomination