IOP-STFC Award for Physics Journalism

The prize is for a work of journalism which is published or broadcast, and which is accessible to the general public.


Eligible articles will cover physics research and related areas of technology, the working lives of physicists, engineers or other people working in physics, the application of physics in industry, or interdisciplinary research linking physics and other scientific disciplines.

The aim of the prize is to increase the amount of great physics coverage in the media and hopefully lead to an increase in the number of stories that can inspire the next generation of physicists. 

Previous winner
The inaugural prize was awarded to Anil Ananthaswamy in 2013.

Terms and conditions