Menu Close


Log in to personalise your experience and connect with IOP.

Juno assessment panel

The Practitioner and Champion awards are assessed by the Juno Assessment Panel, which meets twice a year.

Supporters can submit their letter of commitment at any point in the year and these are viewed by the panel.

Learn more about the panel assessing Juno applications.



The panel review the evidence that a department or school has submitted and will decide whether to award Practitioner or Champion.

Please refer to the code of practice (PDF, 320KB) for further details about the panel assessment process and requirements of the panel members.

The panel comprises a chair and at least five other members. Panel members are drawn from Juno Champion and Practitioner departments with approval of the chair of the panel and the IOP Diversity and Inclusion Committee. 

The panel includes at least two academic physicists and one non-academic physicist. There is at least one woman and one man on the panel.  


The current members of the Juno assessment panel are:

  • Professor Farideh Honary, Lancaster University (Chair)
  • Physics representative from industry, AWE
  • Professor Beth Bromley, Durham University
  • Dr Susan Burrows, University of Warwick
  • Dr Solveig Felton, Queen's University Belfast
  • Dr Lucy Hadfield, University of St Andrews
  • Professor Benjamin Joachimi, University College London
  • Professor Shiho Kobayashi, Liverpool John Moores University
  • Dr Sarah Markham, University of Limerick
  • Professor Niranjan Thatte, University of Oxford
  • Wendy Sadler, Cardiff University
  • Dr Darren Wright, University of Leicester

More information

Get in touch with the diversity team for advice and guidance on the application process.

Email: [email protected]