Juno assessment panel

The Practitioner and Champion awards are assessed by the Juno Assessment Panel, which meets twice per year.

The Panel comprises a Chair and at least three other members, who shall include at least two academic physicists and one non-academic physicist. One member will be nominated by the Women in Physics Group. There shall be at least one man and one woman on the Panel.  It is appointed by the Diversity and Inclusion Committee of the Institute of Physics.

The current members of the Juno Assessment Panel are:

  • Professor Brian Fulton, University of York (Chair)
  • Dr Tracey Berry, Royal Holloway, University of London
  • Professor Malcolm Cooper, University of Warwick
  • Professor Helen Gleeson, University of Manchester
  • Dr Susanne Klein, HP Labs Bristol
  • Dr Robert Nyman, Imperial College London
  • Professor Valerie Gibson, University of Cambridge
  • Elizabeth Whitelegg, Open University

The Panel will review the evidence that a department or school has submitted and will agree whether to award Practitioner or Champion. The Panel’s decision is final. 

If you are awarded Practitioner status, you will be given two years in which to apply for the Champion award. Of course, there is nothing to stop you applying for Champion earlier than this, or even in the same year as Practitioner.

If you are awarded Champion status, you will have to renew this every three years. The Diversity Team will give you information on how you should do this.

If your application for Practitioner or Champion is unsuccessful, you will be given a further year to re-apply for the award and the Diversity Team will support you as much as it can to achieve this. 

The deadlines for Juno Practitioner and Champion applications are:

  • Friday 29 November 2013
  • Friday 25 April 2014
  • Friday 14 November 2014

If you are planning on making a submission, please get in touch with the Diversity team as soon as possible so that we can give you advice and guidance on the application process.