Member news December 2014

6 November 2014

IOP fellow Prof. Miles Padgett has won the 2015 Prize for Research into the Science of Light by a division of the European Physical Society (EPS).

Miles Padgett

The Quantum Electronics and Optics Division of the EPS awards the prize every two years for scientific excellence in recent work in the area of electromagnetic science. Prof. Padgett, who holds the Kelvin Chair of Natural Philosophy at the University of Glasgow, receives the award for “internationally recognised work on optical momentum, including an optical spanner, use of orbital angular momentum in communication systems and an angular form of EPR paradox”.

He is a fellow of the Royal Society, a fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh and a holder of the IOP’s Young Medal, and will be presented with an engraved glass medal, certificate and €2000 at a prizegiving during the Nanometa 2015 conference on 5-8 January in Austria.

For further details, see Light Prize

Cookie Settings