Member news August 2014

22 July 2014

Jon Ogborn
  • A GIREP medal for lifetime achievement was presented to Prof. Jon Ogborn at the GIREP-MPTL conference on Teaching/Learning Physics at Palermo, Italy, in July. Prof. Ogborn (pictured), an honorary fellow of the IOP, is only the second recipient of the medal.

GIREP (Groupe International de Recherche sur l'Enseignement de la Physique – “International Research Group on Physics Teaching”) confers the medal for active involvement in GIREP, developing the teaching of physics in well-founded and long-lasting ways, and having an impact nationally and internationally, among other criteria.

Prof. Ogborn was commended for his many contributions to physics pedagogy, including his co-leadership of the Nuffield Physics project and leadership of Advancing Physics. He is Emeritus Professor of Science Education at the Institute of Education and a member of the IOP’s Education Forum and its Curriculum Committee.

Alexia López-Gil and Prof. Julian Jones
  • IOP associate member Alexia López-Gil (pictured left) received a Student Award sponsored by the IOP at the 23rd international Conference on Optical Fibre Sensors (OFS23) in Santander, Spain, in June.

She won the Alan Rogers Best Paper Award for her paper, “Simple method for the elimination of polarisation noise in BOTDA using balanced detection of orthogonally polarised Stokes and anti-Stokes probe sidebands”.

Her co-authors at the University of Alcalá, Spain, were Alejandro Domínguez-López, Sonia Martín-López and Miguel González-Herráez.

She was presented with the award, which included a trophy, certificate and sum of money, by the Institute’s honorary treasurer Prof. Julian Jones (also pictured), vice principal of Heriot-Watt University. Her award also included a year’s free membership of the IOP.

Cookie Settings