IOP Institute of Physics

For physics • For physicists • For all

Three members elected to Council are announced at AGM

20 July 2018

Three people have just been elected to serve as ordinary members on the IOP’s Council – the new Trustees are Dr Tariq Ali, Dr David Boyce and Dr Tamara Sheret.


Three members elected to Council are announced at AGM

The three will take up their positions on Council on 1 October and will serve four-year terms ending on 30 September 2022. Seven people stood for the three positions in a ballot of all eligible IOP members that closed on 17 July and the results were announced at the Institute’s Annual General Meeting (AGM), held yesterday at the IOP’s London office.

Chairing the AGM, IOP President Professor Dame Julia Higgins thanked the Trustees who will complete their term in office on 30 September 2018 – Dr Trevor Cross, Dr Lisa Jardine-Wright, Professor Kevin McGuigan, Professor Angela Newing and Mark Wrigley.

The IOP’s Honorary Secretary, Professor Brian Fulton, introduced the Institute’s annual report and highlighted some of the work the IOP had done over the last year, including approval of a new membership structure and progress on the property that will be our new home in King’s Cross. The Institute had arranged more than 400 events during the year, a Business and Innovation Group had been formed, raising the profile of business, and a successful campaign for Ireland to join the European Southern Observatory had been run.

During the year, 720 new trainee physics teachers had been recruited – a figure falling short of the 1000 recruits that the IOP would like to see but a big improvement on the situation around eight years ago when only half that number had been recruited, he said. The IOP was receiving £2.73m in government funding over three years to run its Future Physics Leaders programme.

Around 600,000 people had been reached through public engagement events and projects based on voluntary input, ranging from storytelling to working with young homeless people and including its Future STEM Business Leaders Programme in Tanzania.

Two more physics departments had been awarded Juno Champion status and the Institute had worked with the Royal Astronomical Society and the Royal Society of Chemistry to help set up the LGBT+ Physical Sciences Network.

The AGM voted to adopt the report, and to adopt the IOP’s Accounts, which were introduced by our Honorary Treasurer, Professor Julian Jones. IOP members, voting by proxy or at the meeting, agreed to reappoint Price Waterhouse Coopers as the Institute’s auditors (93% in favour) and that fees for each of the Institute’s member categories should not be increased on 1 January 2019 but instead frozen at 2018 rates.

The IOP’s Vice President (Membership), Dr Mark Telling, was asked what effect the decision to introduce a fee of £15 for undergraduate student, apprentice and trainee members had had on student recruitment. He said that around 3,000 students had signed up for membership this year.

Cookie Settings