Member news: December 2013

20 November 2013

Prof. Howard Wilson

IOP fellow Prof. Howard Wilson is a joint winner of the 2013 John Dawson Award for Excellence in Plasma Physics Research. He shared the prize, which is awarded by the American Physical Society (APS), with John Ferron, Thomas Osborne and Philip Synder, from General Atomics, San Diego. The award recognises their outstanding work on hot plasmas used in the quest for fusion energy. It provides a deep understanding of the processes that trigger plasma eruptions that can occur in tokamak fusion devices. Prof. Wilson is director of the York Plasma Institute at the University of York. The award was presented to the four scientists at the annual meeting of the APS’s Division of Plasma Physics in Denver, Colorado.

Beth Reekles

Teenage author and physics student Beth Reeks has been named as one of the 16 most influential teenagers of 2013 by Time magazine. The 18-year-old, who writes under the name of Beth Reekles, gained 19 million online hits for her first novel, The Kissing Booth, and secured a three-book deal with publishers Random House. She is 14th on a list of 16 that also includes pop star Justin Bieber and girls’ education campaigner Malala Yousafazi. Now a student at the University of Exeter, in June she described her enthusiasm for physics in an interview on the IOP blog. She is also taking part in a video interview for the IOP.

Cookie Settings