The six winners of the IOP’s 2017 Teachers of Physics Awards are named

27 October 2017

Six secondary school teachers who are to receive 2017 Teachers of Physics Awards from the IOP have been named by the Institute today.

The six winners of the IOP’s 2017 Teachers of Physics Awards are named

The six are Dr Orla Condren of Dominican College Sion Hill, County Dublin; Paul Cooper of Merchant Taylors’ Boys’ School, Crosby (now at The King’s School, Macclesfield); Martyn Crawshaw of Millburn Academy, Inverness; Stephen Gascoigne of Wickersley School and Sports College, Rotherham; Dr Zen Rogers of Latymer Upper School, Hammersmith and Huw Smith of Ysgol Friars, Bangor.

They will be presented with prizes of £300, certificates and paperweight awards at the Institute’s annual Awards Dinner in London on 7 November.

The Teachers of Physics Awards celebrate the success of secondary school teachers who, by their outstanding practice in the classroom, have raised the state of physics and science in schools.

The IOP’s president, Professor Dame Julia Higgins, said: “Teachers are an absolutely essential part of the physics community. Their enthusiasm, talent and commitment is what inspires the generations to come.

“We are delighted therefore to celebrate the talent and hard work of six outstanding teachers, and with them many others, who together ensure the future of physics.”

Read the citations for all six award winners.

Cookie Settings