Four new members have joined the Institute's Council

27 September 2016

Four new members joined the Institute’s Council in October, having been elected in a ballot of the IOP’s membership earlier this year.

Four new members have joined the Institute's Council

There were three candidates in the election for vice-president, business, and Dr James McKenzie was elected. There were two candidates in the election for vice-president, education, and Dr Carol Davenport was elected.

There were 19 candidates for the two vacancies for ordinary members on Council, and Professor Lesley Cohen and Becky Parker were elected.  Each of the four will serve for four years from 1 October 2016.


Four new members have joined the Institute's Council

Dr Carol Davenport is director of the Think Physics project at Northumbria University, working with more than 30 schools in the north east of England to increase the uptake of A-level physics and physics-related degrees.

She has worked in education, both as a teacher and as a teacher educator, for more than 20 years, having started teaching as a physics lecturer in a further education college and later being a science/physics teacher in the state sector. She has also been a professional development leader in the Science Learning Network, and continues to deliver physics CPD on a consultancy basis.

As well as being a governor at a large comprehensive academy, she is a senior examiner for an awarding organisation. She has worked for the IOP as a consultant in the Physics Teacher Network and Stimulating Physics Network.


Four new members have joined the Institute's Council

Dr James McKenzie is chief executive of PhotonStar LED group plc – a business that he co-founded in 2007 to commercialise LED technology in LED lighting. He has been involved in bringing new technology and products to market over the last 25 years and has held several senior management positions and leadership roles.

After studying physics at Cardiff University he went on to study control systems at the University of Sheffield and McGill University, then completed a PhD in 1993.

He was briefly a research fellow at Brunel University then joined Bookham Technology and was involved in the fast growth of the company. He became chief executive of Mesophonics Ltd in 2003, a venture-capital backed spin-out of the University of Southampton, where he developed two business units that were later sold.

Four new members have joined the Institute's Council

Professor Lesley Cohen was head of Experimental Solid State Physics within the Blackett Laboratory at Imperial College London from 2008 to 2013 and director of postgraduate studies over a similar period. She is current Consul for the Faculty of Natural Sciences and the Education Office. She set up and currently runs the Blackett Lab Industry Club, providing companies with a gateway to students and collaborative resesarch opportunities. She has been a champion of women in SET, having in 1996 edited a booklet, Voices from Women in Science, which led to a number of equal opportunities initiatives at Imperial.

She led the physics department’s successful applications to the IOP’s Juno Champion status and Athena Silver Swan Awards, was appointed Academic Ambassador for Women in the science faculty and chair of the Committee for Academic Women, and received Imperial’s Julia Higgins Medal for these contributions.

Four new members have joined the IOP's Council

Becky Parker is a teacher, a visiting professor in the School of Physics and Astronomy at Queen Mary University of London and director of the Institute for Research in Schools, a charity that encourages and enables secondary schools to involve their students in authentic research.

She did her physics degree at the University of Sussex and a master’s at the University of Chicago. Most of her working life has been in teaching in schools, though she spent some time as senior lecturer in physics at the University of Kent and worked for a short time in the IOP’s education department.

She has served on numerous committees and advisory boards, was awarded an MBE in 2008 for services to science and education and was made an honorary fellow of the IOP in 2014.

Cookie Settings