Five new fellows of the Royal Society are IOP members

6 May 2016

Five fellows of the IOP are among more than 50 new fellows of the Royal Society (RS).

The names of those who have been newly elected as fellows of the RS were announced on 29 April. They include Professor Polina Bayvel, Professor Brian Cox, Professor William David, Professor Pratibha Gai and Professor Patrick Gill.

Professor Polina Bayvel

Bayvel is Professor of Optical Communications and Networks at University College London. She is “an electrical engineer who has made major contributions to the investigation and design of high-bandwidth, multi-wavelength optical communication networks”, her citation from the RS says. She received the IOP’s Paterson Medal and Prize in 2002 and holds several other awards and fellowships.


Professor Brian Cox

Cox is Professor of Particle Physics at the University of Manchester and Royal Society Professor for Public Engagement in Science. As well as having worked in particle physics at DESY, Fermilab and currently at CERN, he is “active in the public and political promotion of science”, the RS says. Among his awards are the IOP’s Kelvin Medal and Prize for 2010 and its President’s Medal in 2012.


Professor William David

David is Professor of Materials Chemistry at the University of Oxford and Science and Technology Facilities Council senior fellow at the ISIS facility. He has “made significant contributions to the development of neutron and X-ray powder diffraction” the RS says. He has received many awards including the IOP’s Boys Medal and Prize (now known as the Moseley Medal and Prize) in 1990.


Professor Pratibha Gai

Gai is Professor of Physics and Chemistry at the University of York. She has “pioneered advanced in-situ electron microscopy applications in the chemical sciences and with E.D. Boyes co-invented the atomic resolution environmental transmission electron microscope”, the RS says, noting that “her research has helped to understand better how catalysts function.” Her awards include the IOP’s Gabor Medal and Prize for 2010.

Professor Patrick Gill

Gill is senior NPL fellow in time and frequency at the National Physical Laboratory. His research is “concerned with laser frequency stabilisation techniques for very high resolution spectroscopy, and the development of leading-edge optical atomic clocks that look to form the basis of a future redefinition of the SI second”, the RS says. He was awarded the IOP’s Young Medal and Prize in 2008.

Cookie Settings