IOP hosts Nobel winners for neutrino conference

4 July 2016

The Institute of Physics and Imperial College London are hosting two Nobel Prize-winning physicists for the 27th International Conference on Neutrino Physics and Astrophysics (Neutrino2016), held over 4–9 July.

Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory
Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory

Professor Takaaki Kajita of the University of Tokyo and Professor Arthur B McDonald of Queen’s University, Canada are giving the conference’s keynote lectures. The pair shared the 2015 Nobel Prize in Physics for discovering that neutrinos have mass, and, in doing so, turning one of the most established physics theories, the standard model of particle physics, on its head.

The conference has brought 700 delegates from around the world to the Royal Geographical Society in South Kensington to share the latest results from the biggest neutrino experiments, including the Super-Kamiokande and IceCube detectors.

Professor Kenneth Long, co-chair of the Local Organising Committee of the conference, said: “It is wonderful to be able to welcome so many friends and colleagues from around the world to South Kensington to celebrate the achievements that led to the award of the 2015 Nobel Prize in Physics to Professors Kajita and McDonald and the award of the Breakthrough Prize to the collaborations that made such seminal discoveries.  

“Historically, the study of the neutrino has played a critical role in establishing the standard model of particle physics – and in demonstrating that it is incomplete. Neutrino 2016 may prove to be a turning point, with new results expected from across the field, new experimental programmes being established and an exciting emphasis on what neutrinos have to teach us about the universe.”

To mark the occasion, the IOP blog is running a five-part series recounting how studying the neutrino has repeatedly led to advances in our knowledge of particle physics.

The Institute is also covering the conference on Twitter.

Cookie Settings