IOP announces six new honorary fellows

21 September 2015

The Institute of Physics (IOP) has named six distinguished people who are to be made honorary fellows of the Institute – including a former member of the IOP staff and one currently serving.

Julia Slingo

Honorary fellowship is the highest honour that the Institute can bestow and the six join a list of 52 eminent individuals including Professor Stephen Hawking and Professor Peter Higgs. The award will be conferred on the six at the IOP’s Awards Dinner in London on 5 November.

The new honorary fellows will include Professor Dame Julia Slingo, chief scientist at the Met Office. Her award is for “her world-class scientific research and expertise in the fields of climate modelling and tropical weather and her overall contribution to weather and climate science”.

Also among the new honorary fellows is Catherine Wilson, for her contributions to the field of physics education. She began her career as a teacher, later working for the Association for Science Education and becoming its deputy general secretary before moving on to work at the IOP. As head of the Institute’s education department she transformed it and “laid the foundations upon which the department’s current success is built”, her citation says.

Honorary fellowship will also be conferred on Philip Diamond, currently associate director, programmes, performance and planning at the IOP, where he has served on the staff for 25 years. During that time he has “played an important role in the development of the landscape for UK physics”, his citation says, and he receives the award for his contributions to the physics community through his work at the Institute.

The award of honorary fellowship will also go to Professor Paul Black, of the Department of Education and Professional Studies, King’s College London; Professor Archie Howie, of the Cavendish Laboratory, University of Cambridge; and Professor Peter Raynes, of the Department of Chemistry, University of York.

Read the full citations below:

Professor Paul Black

Philip Diamond

Professor Archie Howie

Professor Peter Raynes

Professor Dame Julia Slingo

Catherine Wilson

Cookie Settings