IOP Publishing celebrates Nobel laureates with free-to-read papers on neutrinos

7 October 2015

IOP Publishing (IOPP) is making a collection of papers on neutrinos – some by professors Takaaki Kajita and Arthur B McDonald – freely available, in recognition of the two physicists’ achievement in winning the Nobel Prize.

Nobel prize
© ® The Nobel Foundation

They were awarded the 2015 prize for the discovery of neutrino oscillations, which shows that neutrinos have mass.

Jamie Hutchins, publishing director at IOPP, said: “All of us at IOPP would like to extend our warmest congratulations to professors Kajita and McDonald on winning the Nobel Prize. As key scientists in large research groups, their observations changed our fundamental understanding of matter and have influenced many new approaches to capture and measure these particles.

“We were delighted to see that some of the papers published by the IOP and our partners were cited in the Nobel Prize scientific background document. In recognition of this achievement, we have made these papers freely available and encourage all to read them.”

Both laureates have published their research in IOPP’s journals. Kajita has served for many years as an editorial board member on New Journal of Physics, the open access journal jointly owned by the Deutsche Physiks Gesellschaft and the Institute of Physics. He is editing a Focus Issue looking at the current state of neutrino physics.

A special Nobel Prize collection containing papers by Kajita and McDonald, as well as other content in the field of neutrino oscillations, is free to read until the end of the year.

Cookie Settings