Institute of Physics welcomes new science minister

12 May 2015

The Institute of Physics has welcomed the appointments of Joseph Johnson MP as the new minister for universities and science, Sajid Javid MP as the secretary of state for business, innovation and skills, Amber Rudd MP as the new secretary of state for energy and climate change, and the reappointment of Nicky Morgan MP as secretary of state for education.


Frances Saunders, president of the Institute, said: “We look forward to working with new members of parliament, particularly in the build-up to the spending round, as we aim to ensure that government retains a commitment to continuing investment in research and innovation at a level that will ensure the UK is competitive in both creating and exploiting scientific advances.

“We will work with politicians across government to ensure the very best outcome for physics and for the nation as a whole, making sure that investment in physics delivers the best possible return for our economy, our students get the highest quality education and that the latest knowledge and understanding from research is used effectively to underpin policy matters such as the regulation of our environment.”

Cookie Settings