Millennium Technology Prize goes to Stuart Parkin

11 April 2014

The Millennium Technology Prize for 2014 has been awarded to IOP fellow Prof. Stuart Parkin. The 1m prize was given in recognition of his development of a device that has enabled a thousand-fold increase in the storage capacity of magnetic disk drives.

Millennium Technology Prize goes to Stuart Parkin

The prize is awarded every two years by the Technology Academy Finland, and previous winners have included Sir Tim Berners-Lee and Linux creator Linus Torvalds.

Prof. Parkin is an IBM Fellow based at the Almaden Research Center in California and a consulting professor at Stanford University. His original degree and PhD were from the Cavendish Laboratory, Cambridge.

His numerous awards and prizes include the IOP’s Charles Vernon Boys Prize (1991) and its Swan Medal (2013), which was awarded for his “discoveries of the underlying physics and of novel device architectures that have established the field spintronics”.