IOP awards go to top students in Scotland

21 November 2013

Five students have received awards from the Institute of Physics in Scotland for gaining the top marks in physics in their Highers or Advanced Highers among all entrants.

Caitlin Stark (left) with Prof. Lesley Yellowlees

Three of the five were presented with their Excellence in Physics Student Awards at the Science and the Parliament day in Edinburgh on 13 November.

Callum Watson

The event at Our Dynamic Earth gave scientists and Members of the Scottish Parliament (MSPs) the opportunity to meet and discuss current research and issues in science. Among the speakers were Alex Neil MSP, cabinet secretary for health and well-being in the Scottish Government, Sir John Arbuthnott, president of the Royal Society of Edinburgh, and Prof. Lesley Yellowlees, vice principal of the University of Edinburgh and president of the Royal Society of Chemistry, which organised the day.

Donald Taylor

Prof. Yellowlees presented certificates to Caitlin Stark, who gained the highest marks in her Advanced Higher Physics (Revised) while a student at George Watson’s College, Edinburgh, and is now in a gap year; Callum Watson, of Balfron High School, Stirlingshire, for gaining top marks in Higher Physics; and Donald Taylor, also of George Watson’s College, who achieved top marks in Higher Physics (Revised).

Maria Tatulea-Codrean, of Dollar Academy, Clackmannanshire, received an award for achieving top marks in Advanced Higher Physics but was unable to attend the presentation. Emma Rankin, who received an award for achieving top marks in Advanced Higher Physics (Revised), was also unable to attend. She was a student at George Watson’s College and is now an undergraduate at the University of Oxford.

Other IOP websites

More than a physics publisher

A platform for IOP-hosted journal content