Parliamentarians receive an award from learned societies

20 December 2013

The first Parliamentary Award for Science was presented on behalf of 10 learned societies by IOP president Frances Saunders on 11 December.

At a House of Commons reception organised by the societies, she said that they made a stronger case for science to MPs and peers by working together.

The aim of the award was to say thank you to individual parliamentarians for their support during the year, and this would be done in future years, she said.

But she added: “This year, however, we would like to present the first award, not to an individual, but to a body that has been a staunch supporter of science, technology, engineering and maths through thick and thin, over the whole of this Parliament – the Science and Technology Committee of the House of Commons.”

The committee’s chairman, Andrew Miller MP, who stands down at the next election, also spoke at the reception.

Other IOP websites

More than a physics publisher

A platform for IOP-hosted journal content

Cookie Settings