Three awards made for services to IOP

11 April 2013

The winners of the Institute’s Phillips Award for 2013 have been announced. The award, which is now in its second year, recognises individuals who have given distinguished service to the Institute.

Philips Award Winners 2013
Phillips Award recipients Ann Marks, Neil Marks and John Colligon

The three people who have been honoured were chosen by the Institute’s Phillips Award Committee, which sits once a year.

In making its decisions, the committee was looking for: innovative ideas or activities that have made a major contribution to the Institute’s objectives; a leading role in one or more of its groups, divisions or branches; a leading role in its formal governance through Council, boards or committees; or a significant contribution to the Institute’s external influence.

Those chosen are expected to have made a significant contribution such as initiating a new area of activity eg a new local centre, major conference or public activity.

The awards will be presented to the three winners at the Institute’s Awards Dinner, which will be held at the Lancaster London Hotel on 12 November.

Ann and Neil Marks (joint award) have made significant contributions to the IOP throughout their professional careers, with a particular emphasis on Merseyside, education and public engagement.

They have succeeded each other as chair of the Merseyside Branch and as the branches’ representative on Council. In their time leading Merseyside they initiated the branch  teachers’ visits to CERN and promoted other initiatives, including the successful annual  Liverpool Teachers Conference and  partnerships with other societies and institutes in the area.

Ann has been a leading member of the Women in Physics Group since its inception, serving as chair and representing the IOP at the IUPAP Women in Physics Conferences. She established an annual IOP award for early career women physicists, with a commercially sponsored prize. She has served on Group Coordinating Committee, Diversity Committee and (still) Physics Communicators Group Committee.  In addition she chaired Nations and Regions Board and was a member of its Branches Review Working Party. She has played a major role in the Physics in Primary Schools (PIPS) project, which now has wide international  recognition.  

Neil served on the IOP’s Audit and Risk Committee and was awarded the inaugural Particle Accelerators and Beams Group prize for outstanding professional contributions. As Nations and Regions Board chair Neil successfully steered through the sometimes complex issues in connection with the roles for the newly created IOP Regional Representatives. 

Prof. John Colligon was secretary of the Atomic Collisions in Solids Group and brought it into the IOP group structure during the early 1970s. It remains an active IOP group, now known as the Ion and Plasma Surface Interactions (IPSI) Group. For this founding role, and a term as chair, the IPSI Group made him an honorary life member.

He was a committee member, secretary and chair of the Vacuum Science Group and his links with the International Union for Vacuum Science, Technique and Applications, during his time as recording secretary and secretary general, allowed him to create the European Vacuum Conference.

In 2003 he became chair of the IOP’s Surface Science and Technology Division, which had three groups. He obtained Council approval to change its name to the Applied Physics and Technology Division: this had 17 groups. A new conference was established, Novel Applications of Surfaces and Materials, which has run every two years or so.

He has served on Council, and on his branch committee, and given talks at events organised by the branch, including its teachers’ conference. He was chair of the IOP’s Audit and Risk Committee for three years.

Related information

Cookie Settings