Queen’s Birthday Honours for members

18 June 2012

The Institute of Physics (IOP) congratulates a range of its members for honours received in the Queen’s 2012 birthday list.

Professor King

Vice-Chancellor of Aston University and former Chief Executive of IOP, Professor Julia King FREng FInstP, is now a Dame, having been awarded a DBE for services to higher education and technology.

Fellow of IOP, Jonathan Ellis FRS, Clerk Maxwell Professor of Theoretical Physics at King's College London, has been awarded a CBE for services to science and technology, along with Member James Macrae Campbell, Director of Energy Development at the Department for Energy and Climate Change.

Joining them in the Honours List are the IOP’s Vice-President for Business and Innovation Norman Apsley FREng FInsp for services to science and economic development; Dougal Goodman FinstP from the Foundation of Science and Technology for services to science; Peter Roberts FInstP of AWE for services to the defence industry; Professor Peter Sharp CPhys FInstP from the University of Aberdeen for services to healthcare science; and Dr Kenneth Skeldon, Head of Public Engagement and Research at the University of Aberdeen, for services to science engagement. All of them have received a OBE.

A MBE has also been awarded to David Richardson for services to science education in Africa.

Professor Sir Peter Knight, President of the Institute of Physics, said, “Congratulations to all those who have been honoured.  We’re delighted to see so many of our members recognised in this way.”

The full Queen's Birthday Honours list 2012 can be viewed on Direct.gov.uk. 

Cookie Settings