Professor Marshall Stoneham

18 February 2011

It was with great regret that the Institute learned of the death of our President, Professor Marshall Stoneham, earlier this morning 18 February.

Professor Marshall Stoneham FRS CPhys FInstP was Emeritus Massey Professor of Physics in the London Centre for Nanotechnology and the Department of Physics and Astronomy at University College London, where he was also an Honorary Fellow. He was also a Visiting Senior Fellow in the Department of Materials in Oxford.

Before joining UCL in 1995, his career was in the United Kingdom Atomic Energy Authority, leading the Solid State and Quantum Physics group in Theoretical Physics Division, then heading Materials Physics Division, and finally the AEA Chief Scientist for much of the 1990s.

Marshall was a greatly respected scientist, who contributed to a wide range of fields throughout his career from nuclear safety to quantum computing. He was awarded the Guthrie gold medal of the Institute of Physics in 2006, and the Royal Society’s Zeneca Prize in 1995. He was the author of over 500 papers, and of a number of books, and co-founder of two physics-based firms.

He had a long association with the Institute of Physics having been a director of Institute of Physics Publishing for 14 years, the last four as Chairman of the IOPP Board and Vice President for Publishing. He was elected President of the Institute in 2010, and took up the post on 1 October last year.

He will be greatly missed by the physics community, and by all of us in the Institute.
For the moment, IOP's immediate past President Dame Jocelyn Bell Burnell will act as interim President of the Institute.

Cookie Settings