WIPG Advisory Panel

The WIPG Advisory Panel consists of senior physicists who support the WIPG and its aims, but who do not sit on the WIPG Committee.

The Advisory Panel members judge the WIPG Very Early Career Award, are happy to speak at WIPG events and advise the group.

Panel Members:

Prof. Dame S Jocelyn Bell Burnell DBE FRS FRSE, Past President of the Institute of Physics (2008 to 2010), University of Oxford
Prof. Philippa Browning, Jodrell Bank Centre for Astrophysics, University of Manchester
Prof. Christine Davies OBE, University of Glasgow
Prof. Dame Athene Donald, DBE FRS, Professor of Experimental Physics, University of Cambridge
Prof. Gillian Gehring OBE, Emeritus Professor of Physics, University of Sheffield, Team Leader ICWIP 2002, EPWS BoA to 2009
Prof. Helen Gleeson
OBE, University of Leeds, Cavendish Professor of Physics.
Prof. Claudine Hermann, Ordre de la Légion d'Honneur (Grand Officier ), Vice President EPWS, Ecole Polytechnique, Paris, and Femmes & Sciences, France
Prof. Dame Julia Higgins DBE FRS FREng, Emeritus Professor, Department of Chemical Engineering, Imperial College London
Prof. Jessica James, Commerzbank, Head of Quantitative Solutions       
Prof. Ruth Lynden-Bell, Emeritus Professor, University of Cambridge    
Prof. Averil Macdonald FRSA, Professor of Science Communication, University of Reading
Prof. Peter Main, Chief Education Advisor, Institute of Physics                 
Ms Laura Sawyer, IPEM, Royal United Hospital Bath NHS Trust
Prof. Elaine Seddon, University of Manchester and Cockcroft Institute Daresbury
Dr Uschi Steigenberger, Rutherford Appleton Laboratory STFC  
Dr Allyson Reed, Director, Strategy and Communications at Technology Strategy Board
Elizabeth Whitelegg, Open University,
Prof. Julia Yeomans, University of Oxford, Team leader ICWiP 2005, EPS Council