Group prize

Group prize

Nominations are now being sought for the Woodruff Thesis Prize.




This prize will be awarded by the Thin Films and Surfaces Group (TFSG) of the Institute of Physics (IOP) for the best PhD thesis in the field of Thin Films and Surfaces in the year 2014. The value of the prize is £200 and was established to encourage and recognise high quality research and scientific writing in the field of thin films and surfaces.

Nomination Process
Nominations must be made using the nomination form and submitted to the Chair of the TFSG (currently Neil Curson, at any time before the closing date of 31 October 2015. In addition to the application form, an electronic copy of the thesis should be submitted, with a small section identified that represents the highlight of the thesis.

The qualifying period is the calendar year 2014 during which time the thesis must have been successfully examined for a PhD and the final version submitted (theses originally submitted in 2013 are therefore eligible if they were examined in 2014).

Please note non-TFSG/ non-IOP members can be nominated for the prize provided they are nominated by an IOP member.