Theory of Condensed Matter Group

This is an IOP special interest group, which is a community of IOP members focused on a particular discipline, application or area of interest. Special interest groups allow members to connect and share knowledge and ideas. The IOP funds groups to deliver a range of activities including events, prizes and bursaries. All of our groups are driven by members.

About the group

Our members include physicists working with:

  • electronic structure
  • statistical mechanics of solids and liquids
  • correlated systems and many-body theory

What the group does

We foster a community spirit among scientists doing physics research in these areas. We work to encourage the exchange of ideas and promote collaboration between UK groups, primarily by organising and supporting scientific meetings and running a summer school for research students.

Would you like to join this group?

Group physics prizes and competitions 

Annual Sam Edwards PhD Thesis Prize


Applications for the 2020 prize are encouraged across the entire spectrum of theoretical condensed matter physics.

Entry is open to all students:

  • from an institution in the UK or Ireland
  • whose PhD examination has taken place since 1 January 2019 and up to the deadline for submissions


The submission deadline is 1 May 2020.

Submissions should include:

  • a four page (A4) summary by you on the key research findings in the thesis
  • a one page (A4) citation from your PhD supervisor telling us:
  • that you passed 
  • the confirmation date of the PhD exam
  • if the thesis has also been submitted to another Institute group for a PhD thesis prize
  • a one page (A4) confidential report from the external examiner of the PhD thesis

Submissions documents should preferably be PDFs.

When a similar thesis prize is offered by another Institute group, for example, the Computational Physics Group, we liaise  across groups so that our prizes are not awarded to the same applicant. 

We announce the prize at our annual Theory Day .

Email Rudo Roemer for details and deadlines, with the subject header ‘IOP TCM Thesis Prize’.





  • First prize: Arnold Mathijssen Oxford University. For Hydrodynamics of Micro-Swimmers in Complex Fluids and Environments 
  • Joint second: Flaviu Cipcigan, University of Edinburgh. For An Electronically Coarse Grained Molecular Model of Water 
  • Joint second: Sarah Morgan, Cambridge University. For Ultrafast Quantum Effects and Vibrational Dynamics in Organic and Biological Systems

Group events 

Find group events on our groups portal.

Meeting minutes

Minutes of the annual general meeting on 7 June 2018 (PDF, 83.7KB)
Minutes of the officers meeting on 4 May 2017 (PDF, 64.8KB)
Minutes of the officers meeting on 23 February 2016 (PDF, 65KB)       

Committee and contacts

Cookie Settings