Quantum Optics, Quantum Information and Quantum Control Group

This is an IOP special interest group, which is a community of IOP members focused on a particular discipline, application or area of interest. Special interest groups allow members to connect and share knowledge and ideas. The IOP funds groups to deliver a range of activities including events, prizes and bursaries. All of our groups are driven by members.

About the group

Our group covers a broad spectrum of topics that include:

  • metrology
  • standards
  • information theory
  • quantum technologies
  • foundations of quantum physics
  • investigation and control of fundamental physical and chemical phenomena

What the group does

The purpose of our group is to:

  • support links with industry
  • organise conferences, seminars and workshops
  • foster links with national and international research networks
  • promote interaction between physicists working in the diverse range of research fields we encompass
  • organise outreach activities, for example talks to school or the production of videos
  • award grants and prizes relating to conferences of interest, for example the Conference on Condensed Matter and Materials, Photon and QuAMP Divisional conferences
  • award and administer conference travel bursaries and grants for student meetings and conferences

Would you like to join this group?

Group physics prizes and competitions

Bates Prize

This is awarded jointly with other groups, to an early-career researcher for outstanding research, published within the previous five years, on a topic relevant to these Institute groups:

  • Quantum Optics, Quantum Information and Quantum Control
  • Atomic and Molecular Interactions
  • Molecular Physics
  • Quantum Electronics and Photonics
  • Plasma Physics

The prize is awarded in odd years to commemorate Sir David Bates FRS for pioneering studies of atomic and molecular processes and their role in atmospheric science, plasma physics and astronomy.


2019 Dr Dermot Green

Learn more about the winner.

2017 James Millen 

2015 Janet Anders

2013 Jeremy O'Brien

2011 Matt Jones

2009 Mike Tarbutt

2006 J Brown

2005 J Tennyson

2004 Joachim Ulrich

2002 Philip G Burke

2000 Raymond Flannery

Group events 

Find group events on our events portal

Committee and contacts

Cookie Settings