The Optics and Photonics prize

The QEP Group is placed to announce, in conjunction with the Optical Group, the award of the inaugural Optics and Photonics Prize to Prof David Walker.

Prof Walker is Professor of Optics at Glyndwr University, Professorial Research Associate at University College London, and Research Director at Zeeko Ltd. The committees for the two groups awarded the prize for "For his work on Astronomical Optics, and for commercialising his University Research to help produce an international optics-based manufacturing company".

The prize will be presented during the Photon 14 conference  at Imperial College London, 1 - 4 September 2014, where Prof Walker will delivery a plenary lecture describing his work.