QEP Group Prize

Doctoral Research Prize

We are pleased to announce that the 2017 QEP Doctoral Research Prize has been awarded jointly to Dr. Dianmin Lin for her work on ‘Flat Optics Based On Dielectric Gradient Metasurfaces’, under the supervision of Prof. Mark Brongersma at Stanford University, USA; and to Dr. Jamie Francis-Jones for his work on “Active multiplexing of spectrally engineered heralded single photons in an integrated fibre architecture”, under Dr. Peter Mosley at the Centre for Photonics and Photonic Materials, University of Bath, UK.

Dr. Lin is recognized for the design and demonstration of all-dielectric (silicon) phase-gradient metasurface optical elements, such as axicons, flat lenses and blazed gratings, operating in transmission mode at visible wavelengths, as well as multifunctional metasurfaces providing new or combined functions that are difficult if not impossible to achieve with conventional optical components.

The Brongersma Group at Stanford University is concerned with the development and understanding of nanophotonic devices. As part of a worldwide research and development effort on ‘metamaterials’ - manmade media that possess unique properties not found in nature, students in the group aim to nanostructure the layered materials in conventional optoelectronic devices so as to increase their performance or to achieve entirely new functions. They have successfully applied this approach to the fields of solar energy production, information technology, and optical imaging.

Dr. Francis-Jones is recognized for the development of an innovative single-photon source based upon four-wave mixing in photonic crystal fibre, which employs active switching to enhance the probability of delivering photons into a single mode. The capability to multiplex sources of single photons is critical in deploying photonic quantum-enhanced technologies for communication and computation.

The Centre for Centre for Photonics and Photonic Materials (CPPM) at the University of Bath is formed of around thirty academics, postdoctoral researchers and PhD students and pursues research across a range of topics from photonic crystal fibre for lasers, high-energy pulse delivery, advanced endoscopy, and quantum optics to graphene, astrophotonics, the theory of nonlinear optical systems, plasmonics, and chiral materials.

The QEP Doctoral Research Prize recognizes students who have conducted work of an exceptional standard in the field of quantum electronics and photonics. The winning student receives an award of £250 and a certificate.

Subject areas may include:

  • Nonlinear Optics & Spectroscopy
  • Coherent and Incoherent Light Sources
  • Laser Cooling, Trapping & Manipulation
  • Microstructured Photonic Systems
  • Quantum Information Processing
  • Laser Science
  • Metamaterials
  • Quantum Optics
  • Nanophotonics & Plasmonics
  • Magneto-optics
  • Biophotonics

Nominations for the 2018 prize will open here soon

The QEP Doctoral Research Prize is supported by Laser Physics Letters and Laser Physics [published by IOP Publishing on behalf of Astro Ltd].

Past winners
2017Joint winner
Dr Dianmin Lin
"Flat Optics Based On Dielectric Gradient Metasurfaces"
Stanford University, USA
2017Joint winner
Dr Jamie Francis-Jones
"Active multiplexing of spectrally engineered heralded single photons in an integrated fibre architecture"
Centre for Photonics and Photonic Materials, University of Bath, UK
2016Joshua Silverstone
"Entangled Light in Silicon Waveguides"
Centre for Quantum Photonics, University of Bristol
2015Jun Yu (Bruce) Ou
"Reconfigurable Photonic Metamaterials"
Nanophotonics and Metamaterials Group, University of Southampton
2014Tobias Herr
“Solitons and Dynamics of Frequency Comb Formation in Optical Microresonators”
K-Lab, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL), Switzerland
2013Sebastian Weustner
“Gain and Plasmon Dynamics in Active Nanoplasmonic Metamaterials”
Condensed Matter Theory Group
, Imperial College London
2012Paul Siddons
“Faraday Rotation of Pulsed and Continuous-wave Light in Atomic Vapour”
Atomic and Molecular Physics Group
, Durham University
2011Eric Plum
“Chirality And Metamaterials”
Nanophotonics and Metamaterials Group
, University of Southampton

Nikitas Papasimakis
“Trapped-modes, Slow Light and Collective Resonances in Metamaterials”
Nanophotonics and Metamaterials Group
, University of Southampton

Kosmas Tsakmakidis
“Ultra-slow and stopped light in metamaterials”
Condensed Matter Theory Group, Imperial College London

2009Fernando Brandao, Imperial College London
2008Sarah Croke, Strathclyde University
2007Matthias Ediger, Heriot-Watt University
2006John Morton, Oxford University
2005Jörg Evers, Universität Freiburg
2004Hyunseok Jeong, Queen's University Belfast
Seán Martin O'Flaherty, Trinity College Dublin
2003Dimitris Angelakis, Imperial College London