PhD Thesis Prize 2014

This prize recognizes students who have conducted doctoral research of an exceptional standard in the field of quantum electronics and photonics.

Winners receive an award of £500. The prize is open to students who successfully completed their PhD examination during the 2013 calendar year.

Subject areas may include:

  • Nonlinear Optics & Spectroscopy
  • Coherent and Incoherent Light Sources
  • Laser Cooling, Trapping & Manipulation
  • Microstructured Photonic Systems
  • Quantum Information Processing
  • Laser Science
  • Metamaterials
  • Quantum Optics
  • Nanophotonics & Plasmonics
  • Magneto-optics

Supervisors are invited to nominate students by submitting a short citation and an electronic copy of the thesis. Download the Nomination form.

Nomination Deadline: 14 April 2014

Nominations should be submitted to:
Dr. Kevin MacDonald (University of Southampton)

The QEP Thesis Prize is supported by Laser Physics Letters and Laser Physics [published by IOP Publishing on behalf of Astro Ltd].

The QEP Group Committee will treat all nominations in confidence.

Past winners
2013Sebastian Weustner, Imperial College London
2012Paul Siddons, Durham University
2011Eric Plum, University of Southampton
2010Nikitas Papasimakis,University of Southampton
Kosmas Tsakmakidis, Imperial College London
2009Fernando Brandao, Imperial College London
2008Sarah Croke, Strathclyde University
2007Matthias Ediger, Heriot-Watt University
2006John Morton, Oxford University
2005Jörg Evers, Universität Freiburg
2004Hyunseok Jeong, Queen's University Belfast
Seán Martin O'Flaherty, Trinity College Dublin
2003Dimitris Angelakis, Imperial College London