Malcolm Haines Prize

The IOP Plasma Physics Group is proud to host the biennial Malcolm Haines Prize 2019. Created in honour of the late Malcolm Haines, an outstanding plasma physicist at Imperial College London, the award recognises early researchers for outstanding research, leadership and/or innovation in plasma physics.

The prize is funded by Malcolm Haines' widow, Polly Haines. 

Eligible nominees are researchers working in any area of experimental or theoretical plasma physics in the UK or Ireland with less than six years of work experience after completing a PhD or, if they do not have a PhD, less than 10 years of work experience (not including career breaks). 

`Plasma physics' is defined here to include magnetically-confined and inertially-confined fusion plasmas, laser plasmas, warm dense matter, low temperature plasmas, technological plasmas, and space/astrophysical plasmas. The research must have been carried out in the UK/Ireland.

The prize is open to ALL members of the plasma physics community, and applications will be judged by a panel of experts. The winner will receive £500.

Both nominations and self-nominations are welcome. For self-nominations, a second nomination is required from a person who is a member (in any category) of the Institute of Physics and is based at an institution other than that of the nominee. Nominations should be made by sending an email message to the Institute of Physics Plasma Physics Group secretary Dr Josie Coltman,, and at least one of the nominations should include an attached copy of, or URL link to, one paper to which the nominee has made a major contribution. The paper should have been published, or accepted for publication, in a refereed journal.

Deadline for submission: 12pm, 18 January 2019.

Cookie Settings