Group Prize - The Early Career Physics Communicator Award

The Prize objectives and scope

The IOP Physics Communicators Group invites applications from people at the start of their careers in physics who have undertaken activities that support and encourage excellent communication of physics. The prize is called "The Early Career Physics Communicator Award", and is offered annually.


Applicants do not need to be a member of the IOP, but should be one of the following:

  • A person involved in appropriate postgraduate study within a few years of a first degree qualification (not more than five years), or currently studying for a first degree in physics
  • A person working as a physicist in UK or Eire within the first five years of their physics career

The Prize

The winner of the 2015 IOP Physics Communicators Group award will receive £250 and an award certificate at an event to be held on Monday 23 November. As well as providing recognition of the winner's work through the prize money, the process will also facilitate networking opportunities for all participants.


Applicants need to submit a report of their communication activities, which should be no more than 1500 words long.

The report should be accompanied by the applicant’s CV and include:

  • Brief details of their academic physics work or study
  • Evidence of communication activities undertaken to encourage others in physics' appreciation or the general understanding of physics
  • The names and contact details of two referees with close knowledge of the applicant's work and/or their communication activities

The application submission deadline for the 2015 prize is Monday 5 October. Submissions need to be sent to the Group Secretary, Dr Chris Sinclair, using the official entry form.

Please note:

  • Any person wishing to nominate another for the prize must enclose the written consent of the nominee
  • At the award ceremony those shortlisted will be expected to give a presentation (no more than 10 minutes) after which the winner will be announced
  • Shortlisted candidates must be prepared to be interviewed by the IOP and appear on IOP websites and within IOP publications

The Results from the 2015 Prize Event

The 2015 Group Prize was won by Jessica Wade. Her wide-ranging physics communication activities including school visits, setting up a Women in Physics Group at Imperial College, running an outreach lecture series at an east London school and serving on the Young Women’s Board of Women Into Science and Engineering (WISE) all impressed the judges, Jessica winning the overall prize for 2015 following some very strong competition from the other three finalists.

The prize was presented by Professor Mark Miodownik, who also gave a keynote talk entitled ‘Materials for the 21st century’.  Following Professor Miodownik’s address, presentations on their communication activities were given by the four shortlisted finalists: Francesca Day, Rebecca Douglas, Rebecca Smethurst and Jessica Wade. Jessica went on to win the overall prize and the other three finalists were each awarded a runner-up certificate.

Some images from the 2015 Award event can be found here:

A write up of the 2015 Award event can be found in the IOP news archive here: