Award recipients

Winners of Nuclear Industry Group Prizes

2015 – Career Contribution Prize


David Weaver: for dedicating over 40 years to research and training used by the nuclear industry, making significant contributions to both.


2015 – Early Career Prize


David Hughes: for his leadership of a team to develop a suitable decay heat methodology with associated validation and uncertainties associated with the proposed Sizewell B Dry Fuel Store.


2014 – Early Career Prize


Chris Holland: for his work on Lower Ports Nuclear Analysis project for the ITER fusion reactor.



2013 – Early Career Prize
Rhodri Morgan: for his leadership of the development of Laser Induced Breakdown Spectroscopy as a tool for the monitoring of nuclear waste packets.

2012 – Early Career Prize
Craig Shearer: for his work to develop a practical system using cosmic-ray muons to analyse the contents of Intermediate Level Waste containers.

2012 – Career Contribution Prize
Alan Copestake: for his contribution to the development of computational methods that have enabled the design of a generation of light-water nuclear reactors for submarines.

2011 – Early Career Prize
Lindsay Cox: for her innovative approach and leadership in establishing and promoting the practical application of Muon Scattering Tomography detection techniques capability.