Magnetism Group Newsletter, June 2017

In the past year the Magnetism group has been active in representing the interests of its members, principally through the organisation and support of events, and by responding to requests for consultation from external bodies.

Events organised


The IoP Magnetism Winter School was held in York from 14-16 December 2016.  The third day was devoted to a hands-on introduction to the VAMPIRE code and was supported by the EPSRC grant “CCP on Computational Magnetism” (EP/M022668/1).

Magnetism 2017 was also held in York from 3-4 April.  The plenary lecture was given by Bernard Dieny of Spintec, while André Thiaville of Université Paris-Sud delivered the Wohlfarth Memorial Lecture.  We thank all those involved in organising the meeting, particularly the conference chairs Tom Moore and Gonzalo Vallejo-Fernandez.

The group’s Annual General Meeting was held on the second day of Magnetism 2017.  The committee wishes to thank Aidan Hindmarch and Christy Kinane, who came to the end of their terms as Treasurer and Ordinary Member of the committee respectively, and Roger Allcock of Arnold Magnetics who stood down as a co-opted member. The committee welcomes Tim Mercer and Laura Bovo who were elected as Treasurer and Ordinary Member respectively.  Shahid Hussain of Qinetiq has since been co-opted to provide an industrial perspective.

Details of other meetings supported by the group may be found on our calendar. 


The committee submitted evidence to the EPSRC Balancing Capability consultation.  Read the revised descriptions of the Condensed Matter: Magnetism and Magnetic Materials and Spintronics.

Coming events

The next IoP Magnetism Winter School will again be held in York from 11-12 Dec 2017.

Magnetism 2018 will be held in Manchester from 9-10 April.

These meetings have traditionally been held in locations where a committee member is able to act as local organiser.  In choosing a venue, careful consideration is given to the facilities available and the cost of attendance, particularly for PhD students.  The committee would be very pleased to hear from group members beyond the committee who might want to host either of these meetings at their own institution in future.

Cookie Settings